KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Where I Take a Contrary View


Not just with the current politically correct view but also possibly with myself.

I generally believe that there are certain areas in which discrimination shouldn’t be allowed.  In housing and employment and education for instance, I don’t think discrimination based on the gender, race, religion, sexual orientation, etc., should be allowed.  There are some things that are kind of basic and fundamental that should be open and available to all — housing, work, and education are in that category.

But, then there are some things that aren’t so basic and fundamental.

Indiana’s governor signed a law this week that is being described by its supporters as a religious freedom law and its opponents are describing as discriminatory against gay people.  Basically, the idea is that businesses can deny service to people when it conflicts with their religious views.  So, yeah, the baker can refuse to make a cake for a gay marriage.  Or maybe an attorney could refuse to provide legal services to defend somebody based on their religious beliefs.

And I don’t have a problem with this.  The reality is that in my ideal world laws like this aren’t necessary.  That people just treat everybody with love and respect and overlook the differences that make us what we are.  Members of the human race.  But that clearly isn’t going to happen.  I’m not sure making laws that either allow or prohibit this kind of stuff does anything to make things better.  The better solution to me is to let those business owners decide who they want to serve and if they can make it discriminating against gays or members of a certain race or religion, so be it.  On the other hand, if they decide to discriminate, those of us who believe in love and respect and fairness for all can choose not to provide our business to them.  Better that, I think, then to constantly have our politicians flip us back and forth between the two.

17 responses to “Where I Take a Contrary View

  1. Pamela Beckford March 29, 2015 at 5:54 am

    As someone who lives in Indiana, let me give you what I’m feeling right now. I am ashamed that my legislators would feel there was any need for this. We have a republican “super majority” and they have been abusing their power in other areas too. They are destroying education for our children – politicizing the smallest citizens. They have plenty of things they should be working on, but they took time to turn the clock back decades. I know what the intent of the bill was – pretty much what you described – but laws are not intentions. I am hearing that the governor (who I personally do not like) is back pedaling due to all the pressure – there were thousands in Indianapolis yesterday peacefully protesting – but I think it is too little too late. I doubt we see any repeal, although one of our US Senators (a democrat) posted a video saying he was going to work to see this repealed. I am just finding that Indiana is not a good place to live (but I’m tied here until my dad is gone). I think our elections will be interesting. I know this has rambled a bit, but I hope you get what I was trying to say anyway.

    • kingmidget March 29, 2015 at 7:55 am

      I can get the frustration and disappointment and that this is just the tip of the iceberg in terms of what else your Legislature is doing, but like you said … there wasn’t any need for this, just like there shouldn’t be a need for a law that says business owners have to serve people without discriminating. I don’t know why, but I just think business owners should have the right to serve who they want and if they can survive as a business by discriminating than whoopee for them. These are the kinds of things I’m wishing more and more that our politicians would stay out of … as liberal as I am, I’m just tired of the constant culture wars.

  2. sknicholls March 29, 2015 at 7:51 am

    I don’t think the creation of any group of second class citizens is good thing, women, gays, Muslims, blacks. With generations of my family raised in the Jim Crow South, I watched restaurants, doctor’s offices, dentists, hotels, clothing and apparel stores refuse to service non-whites. Anything to make their lives more miserable and keep them oppressed. Michigan allowing EMTs to refuse treatment to gays, Indiana allowing discrimination to gays. Virginia about to do the same and Georgia will be on their heels. Why is the divisiveness necessary? Children are taught to hate and to fear. Whole generations are indoctrinated with hatred that they carry into the future. How can that be right?

    • kingmidget March 29, 2015 at 7:58 am

      Can’t disagree with anything you say, Susan. I’m just not sold on the idea that this law is fundamentally wrong. I think that, instead of requiring people to serve all who enter, the law should be that they can discriminate based on their religious or personal beliefs, but that they have to post a sign in a conspicuous place, including on their website, who they discriminate against. That way, potential customers have notice of their policies and can choose whether or not they want to give them their business.

      • sknicholls March 29, 2015 at 8:03 am

        And if the only hospital in town refuses to stitch up that wound because you are gay…never mind if you have to travel thirty miles and possibly dies on the way. No, I don’t buy into your design. It may be Capitalism at it’s finest, but that doesn’t make it right.

      • kingmidget March 29, 2015 at 8:15 am

        As I said in my post, there are certain areas that are basic and fundamental where you can’t discriminate … housing, employment and I’d add health care to that list as well. And since so many hospitals are either run by the government or by non-profits or are dependent on state and federal funds, it’s easier to prevent them from discriminating as a condition of receipt of those funds.

      • sknicholls March 29, 2015 at 8:24 am

        Many hospitals in the South are run by Churches. There are literally hundreds of rural miles between them. It’s not just about who will serve you donuts and coffee and who won’t. It sets a precedent. A precedent that perpetuates hatred. We have laws that prevent discrimination based on gender….among other bias. No, we don’t have to get our sandwiches from Chick-Fil-A, and I don’t have to shop at Hobby Lobby, but United We Stand and Divided We Fall. It’s creating another scenario of them and us. Peace.

      • kingmidget March 29, 2015 at 9:21 am

        There are many hospitals in California run by churches as well, but like I said, if they receive federal or state funds or if they want non-profit status and the tax benefits that come with that, than they shouldn’t be allowed to discriminate. I agree with you that health care is a vital service where discrimination shouldn’t be allowed. On the other hand, even if I’m pro-choice, I have no problem with a church run by the Catholic church not performing abortions.

        I also agree in your comment about United We Stand and Divided We Fall — the only problem is that government can’t force that on people.

        Peace to you as well.

      • sknicholls March 29, 2015 at 10:08 am

        In the south there are many supper clubs that are members only that still discriminate. They are private, not public. I fear the day when we are all microchipped with our medical and social histories and Airlines can say, nope , can’t fly with us, you had an abortion in 1978, nope we don’t want you in our establishment because you’ve been treated for mental illness, nope, your son is gay so you can’t hold your family reunion at our restaurant. If you woke up one morning and all the public places had posted signs saying “white men not allowed”. You would feel differently. Oppression is oppression. I could never support that.

  3. TamrahJo March 29, 2015 at 9:42 am

    As more of this kind of legislation comes about, as this most recent Civil Rights battle progresses – I cannot help but think of the comment of a West Point historian as he talked about the Revolutionary War and the British tactics with colonials that had not yet ‘chosen’ a side, but merely wanted to live their life and stay out of the middle of it as much as possible –

    “If you’re going to push people off the fence, you ought to be fairly certain which side they are going to fall on before you push.”

    The British never learned this and it contributed to their defeat –

    Fence-pushers who do it via legislation irritate me – I’ll always fall on the opposite side, just to prove a point –

    • kingmidget March 29, 2015 at 9:57 am

      I’m starting to get that way too. Don’t know if you read the comments to this post but in one of them I suggested that the solution isn’t prohibition but required disclosure. Discriminate all you want but provide conspicuous notice of who you discriminate against to your customers so they can decide if they want to do business with you.

      • TamrahJo March 29, 2015 at 10:06 am

        Yes, I read the post and comments 🙂 I still believe transparency to always be a good thing – in my mind, evil and BS can only grow/prosper when not allowed to be examined in the light of day – 🙂
        Demonstrations and Picket Lines one way of providing transparency – as are editorials, blog posts, etc. Simply because, they bring to light the things people do and give us all an opportunity to pick our own side – 🙂

Leave a Reply

