KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Touch


I’ve had this thought lately.  We have two dogs.  I can’t stand them and want nothing to do with them.  Slinky is a rescue dog, seriously emotionally scarred by the abuse she suffered in the first few months of her life.  We named her Slinky because of how she slinked around when we first got her.  She was afraid of everybody and everything.  She had nothing to do with me for years.  I could put food on the floor and walk away and she wouldn’t eat it.  She would jump and run at my slightest movement.  In the last couple of years she has become much more comfortable, much more dog-like.  She is no longer skittish and no longer slinks.  But there’s a downside to that.  She has become a massive mooch, with no manners whatsoever.  And she sleeps on the bed, frequently she’s very restless and it disturbs my sleep.

And then there’s the other dog.  A stray Queen Midget just had to bring home.  And keep.  Lamb Chop barks.  Constantly.  If I move, she barks.  If I hug a member of my family she barks.  If I say “hey” to my wife, she barks.  She barks and barks and barks and barks.

I once was a dog person.  I’m struggling with remaining a dog person with these two dogs in my life.  I generally try to have as little as possible to do with them.  But every once in awhile I break down and pet one or both of them.  And this thought occurred to me.

If you have pets at home, particularly dogs and in some cases cats, think about how they react when you pet them.  They relax.  They might purr.  They want more and seek out that touch from you.  A scratch behind the ears, a belly rub, stroking their pelt.  And that dog or cat is yours.  All yours.

So, why is it then that we can’t touch each other?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/05/14/the-power-of-touch-physical-contact-health_n_3253987.html

http://www.lamasbeauty.com/lifestyle/pleasure-power.htm

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=128795325

Seriously, touch somebody today.  Not just that glancing hug or the quick peck on the cheek.  Stop and touch them in a real and meaningful way.  It’s not going to hurt.  I guarantee it.

Connect by a touch

Fingers to skin, arms around

Touch, imagine love

13 responses to “Touch

  1. Help Me Help Holly ♥ March 7, 2015 at 5:57 pm

    A wonderful idea 🙂

  2. John Callaghan March 7, 2015 at 6:28 pm

    I am fortunate enough to get to do this at home and at work.

    • kingmidget March 7, 2015 at 8:36 pm

      My 17-year-old son still gives me the best hugs in the world. I some times wonder if he realizes just what those hugs do for me. They are a calm in the storm, a moment when I can hope and dream. You know. That’s all it takes to hope and dream. A hug here and there. A touch.

      • John Callaghan March 7, 2015 at 8:54 pm

        I know what you are talking about. I have a friend who I work with who has Down Syndrome and when he hugs me I know that I have done something good with my life.

  3. Sally March 7, 2015 at 6:51 pm

    I am not a dog person and struggle to be affectionate with “the dog who arrived with the man”. (Fortunately, everyone else gives him lots of attention). But the people in my life? They get lots of cuddling! I think touch is critical in our lives, one of those basic things we need in order to thrive.

  4. sknicholls March 8, 2015 at 10:07 am

    There were studies in Russia and Romania back in the 1940s. They took orphaned babies and did not touch them except for changing diapers and feeding. 37% died within the first year, and the remaining ones were stunted or physically or mentally ill. In nursing, touching, or the laying on of hands, has always been part of basic nursing. That’s changing now as time constraints have nurses managing tubes and machines rather than giving physical care. Sad state of affairs. My husband’s a good hugger and that affection and touch are significant reasons for keeping him around. 😉

    • kingmidget March 8, 2015 at 10:13 am

      I remember reading about those studies and marveling at the idea that humans could have done that to babies in the name of science. Some things we just don’t need to do. That’s one of them.

  5. Trent Lewin March 8, 2015 at 3:22 pm

    With family and friends, yes and always. Hugs, kisses, tickling, touching. But at work… oh man. Just try and do that, and be sent on your way.

  6. John W. Howell March 9, 2015 at 11:13 am

    Our lack of physical involvement with each is that we have become a country of laws rather than a country of men (human kind) I have rescues and know they need a lot of care. I’m sorry they are challenging your dog person role. I’ll bet they secretly love when you pet them.

Leave a Reply

