KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Where I Take a Contrary View


Given that we are decades away from independence from oil, assuming we can ever get there, isn’t it better if we are able to produce our own oil right here in North America rather than depending on oil coming from far-flung and less stable regions?  And if you accept that assumption, isn’t it better for the environment to have a pipeline transporting that oil than for hundreds, if not thousands, of tanker cars traveling the nation’s railroads to move the oil?  I mean, seriously, how many derailments of oil hauling trains have there been in the last few months?  Compared with how many pipeline leaks?

* * * * * *

I realize that because I blog and I’m on the internet, I’m supposed to be opposed to the idea of the federal government regulating the internet.  But I’m not.  Here’s what I think.  The internet has become a critical backbone to our lives and our economy.  There is really nothing left in our world that can function without the internet.  Given that, the idea of a free and open internet, unregulated to ensure that our interests are protected is a dramatically scary thing to me.  Think about the airlines after deregulation, about the split up of Ma Bell, the deregulation of the banking industry, the complete lack of real regulation over the oil industry … this list could go on and on.  I’m pretty sure I’d rather have an internet that is reasonable regulated than one that is not.  This is one of the things that amazes me about all of the privacy concerns these days.  The government collects terabytes worth of data on us probably every hour.  So much that there’s no way they have the human capacity to process any more than the tiniest fraction of that data.  And we are outraged about that.  Meanwhile, companies, corporations, and all manner of businesses who are only interested in their bottom line collect massive amounts of data on us — sell it to the highest bidder, get hacked regularly by foreign governments and crooks, and we all go blissfully ignorantly along.

I’m good with government regulation of the internet.  I think it’s about time.

 

11 responses to “Where I Take a Contrary View

  1. Carrie Rubin February 27, 2015 at 6:45 am

    I’m in agreement with you on both counts. I’m creeped out less by the thought of the government collecting information on me than companies like Amazon and Facebook. I find it a bit scary when I’ve purchased something from Amazon and less than ten minutes later there’s an ad for it in my FB timeline. As you mention, our information is used far more by these types of entities than the government.

Leave a Reply

