KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Has This Ever Happened to You?


I rarely remember my dreams, but I had one last night that I remembered.  I’m not exactly sure about the details but in my dream, I had a tooth knocked out right before I went to the dentist.  It was one of my canine teeth — you know, the pointy ones on either side of your four front teeth.  The one on the right side.  I remember in my dream, feeling the opening with my tongue and being dismayed.  How was I going to explain this to the dentist.  This dream may be motivated that I’m scheduled for a cleaning tomorrow and have to schedule an appointment with a periodontist to see about my receding gums.  Nah, that can’t be it.

Anyway, the reason for my question … at some point during the day, I recalled the dream and it was so real, I could “feel” the hole in my mouth where that teeth should have been.  Well, it was.  In real life, the tooth was there, but I could still feel the hole and the panic it created in my dream hours later.

How about you?  Ever have a dream like that where even though you knew it wasn’t real, you still “felt it” hours later?

9 responses to “Has This Ever Happened to You?

  1. Carrie Rubin January 26, 2015 at 7:21 pm

    I often ‘feel’ my dreams for hours the day after I have them, sometimes even into the next day. It often involves being lost, and I can feel that panic even hours later. Bet the psychologists would have a field day with that. 😉

    • kingmidget January 26, 2015 at 8:15 pm

      This dream was clearly connected to my upcoming appointments, but I don’t remember “feeling” a dream like I did this. I think the “lost” dream is one that a lot of people have. I remember when I was a kid frequently having a dream about being chased by some unknown, unseen beast.

  2. Gibber January 26, 2015 at 8:20 pm

    I have that happen a lot. I actually had one like that last night. What’s worse is it’s a creepy recurring one. I have a couple of those I wish would go away for ever.

  3. Trent Lewin January 26, 2015 at 8:28 pm

    Once in a while… it’s like some weird deja vu. For me, it’s often like a memory of an event that I just remembered, and should never have forgotten. Strange feeling altogether.

  4. sknicholls January 26, 2015 at 9:44 pm

    You would have to believe in paranormal phenomena to truly understand my take on dreams. In the mid-eighties I had a string of clairvoyant dreams that lasted for two years. It was terrifying.

Leave a Reply

