KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Song For Today


It’s a return to one of my favorites…  (And, yes, if this guy doesn’t hit the road and come to Northern California soon, I’m gonna have to stalk him and make him put on a concert just for me.)

 
Been so many days of longing now
Why should it ever be this far
Where I get frightened
I could never gather birds enough to carry ’round your part
But I see traces of your thoughts out here
I see a sight; I hear a sound

I only comfort in the brittleness of days when I can hold what I just found
In the untired eyes of the laughing child
And the dirtiest sweater he owns
Early, sun-warmed pine
And all those life-like sins
That will pull out the memories to show
I’m not leavin’ alone
I’m not leavin’ alone

If just that weather-beatin’ plane was here
Haven’t seen it since I came
Can only wonder if it’s near or in the skies
When this damn city sounds the same

And sometimes I’m just a tangle in this trampled wheat
Shirk a-like a losing dog
If just tonight that I could be where you are near
And just forget where I am lost

In the untired eyes of the laughing child
And the dirtiest sweater he owns
Early, sun-warmed pine
And all those life-like sins
That will pull out the memories to show
I’m not leavin’ alone
I’m not leavin’ alone

4 responses to “A Song For Today

  1. Kevin Brennan January 15, 2015 at 8:55 am

    Nice finger-pickin’! Very Dylanesque…

  2. Philip Walter January 17, 2015 at 10:42 am

    MrsPdubyah thought it was Dylan. We both enjoyed this and the other albums on the music machine, it’s nice to listen to new things. Thanks for the tip. .

    • kingmidget January 17, 2015 at 10:57 am

      Glad you both liked it. I think he is a hidden gem that needs to become unhidden. Since I posted that song I’ve been listening to him throughout the day. Keep getting surprised by songs I had forgotten about. And, yes, new music is critical to the human endeavor.

Leave a Reply

