KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A River Runs Through


IMG_3953

Years ago, my sister or my mother told me that a good photograph doesn’t always have the object of attention centered in it.  Until then, all of my pictures had the lake, the mountain, the tree, the person, the whatever, centered.  Ever since, I have tried to take that advice.  Some things still need to be centered, but I try to take as many pictures as I can where that is not the case.  This is one from my walk yesterday along the American River.  In the old days, that small chunk of land with a few trees on it would have been right in the middle and much more zoomed in.  Now, it’s still somewhat in the middle of the photo, but I pulled the focus back to pull in a lot more detail.  There’s a lot about this that I simply don’t know.  I typically see something and put the camera to my eye and take the picture.  Maybe one day I’ll have the time to learn a little more about the craft.

 

9 responses to “A River Runs Through

  1. sknicholls December 28, 2014 at 5:55 pm

    There is something to be said for the smoothly worn stones.

  2. Carrie Rubin December 28, 2014 at 6:02 pm

    It’s a lovely photo. I know little about photography, and I suspect my pictures show that. I’ll have to try the off-center approach. I’m such a stickler for symmetry, I have to remind myself it isn’t always necessary. Or desirable.

  3. Trent Lewin December 28, 2014 at 10:05 pm

    I love it when you snap a perfect pic… I don’t know the pattern, or how it’s done properly, but it’s amazing when you land one. this is a skill that’s beyond me.

    • kingmidget December 29, 2014 at 8:27 pm

      I don’t necessarily know the ins and outs of the thing either. Just point and click and see what happens. The only thing I really pay attention to is trying not to center things.

  4. Deliberately Delicious January 1, 2015 at 8:06 pm

    Your photograph leaves me feeling calm and meditative. One thing I notice about the composition is the variety of textures: the big, rounded river rocks, the smooth running river, the feathery branches in the top, right corner.

    • kingmidget January 1, 2015 at 8:10 pm

      To the extent I am conscious of what I am doing when I take a picture … thank you for noticing the textures and layers. The textures isn’t necessarily something I have thought about before. But the layers are … having those branches there was intentional. Glad to know I get it right some time. 😉

Leave a Reply

