KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Got Your Politics Right Here


Yeah, this is the kind of thing I’m trying to avoid, but I can’t resist.  There’s this right wing blog I check out regularly.  It’s called PowerLine and is run by several guys.  All of them white.  Most of them attorneys.  All of them almost completely unrepentant rightwingers.  A few days ago, as Stephen Colbert was ending his Colbert Report, they posted something about how Colbert was a Democratic Party operative, just trying to further the propaganda machine of the Democratic Party.  They were offended by this, apparently, while not recognizing that Fox News is a shill for the Republican Party that operates 24/7.

So, today, I look at what they’ve got going on and their most current post starts with this nugget:  “By any reasonable standard, the Obama administration has been a train wreck.”

Of course they don’t explain why they think this.  They never do.  It is just a statement that they repeat over and over and over again and their hoards of like-minded readers reinforce it through some of the most offensive statements I’ve read on the blogosphere lately.  And, then, they typically lead into something that is superficial and irrelevant and, ultimately, not Obama’s fault.  Like this most current post — which relates to a CBS report about how Obama is a “foodie” and is “hipper” than other U.S. Presidents.  Note, that this turns into a criticism of Obama when he had nothing to do with the report.  Yes, the report is ridiculous and stupid, but let’s remember that throughout Bush’s Presidency, there were plenty of stupid and ridiculous stuff reported about his habits … like how he cleared brush at his Texas ranch.

I’m curious, then, exactly how they justify the comment.  I won’t find it in any of their posts, unless I patch them all together and try to put the puzzle together.  To read the blog, Obama has failed at … well, everything.   And if you say it often enough maybe it will become true.  Or not.

Here’s what I’d like to do … if any of you reading this blog are more on the right side of the aisle politically, I invite you to submit a post to me explaining what you believe went wrong with the Obama administration.  I will publish your post here, unedited, and then offer a rebuttal.  I promise you a respectful discussion that weighs the merits of this Administration’s actions.  I don’t expect anybody to take up this offer because it has become apparent to me that the WordPress corner of the blogosphere is pretty liberal, but I’m hoping there is somebody out there who reads this who says, “I’ll give it a try.”  I seriously would like to have a conversation on this with somebody.  Anybody game?  Send me an email at mpaxson55@gmail.com.

11 responses to “I Got Your Politics Right Here

  1. sknicholls December 27, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    As a single woman, I had a modest 1700 sq ft house and was paying $2600. a month for it. Obama’s Making Homes Affordable Act got me a 2% mortgage where I sit at $1600 ($242 is PMI), gas prices have dropped, the economy has improved. People are buying big ticket items again. My son and his wife just bought a house in Michigan. The deficit is greatly improved. I should send you over to some of the folk who stopped following me when I mentioned I am prochoice. From where I’m sitting, things are looking pretty good.

  2. Invisible Mikey December 27, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    I think you’ll have to be satisfied with going there, and rattling the cages to upset the animals.

  3. Kevin Brennan December 28, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    Life’s too short, man… Life’s too short. 😜

  4. Amy Reese December 28, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    I commend you for wanting to have a rational discussion. Just sayin’. 🙂 I hope someone takes you up on it. I’d like to see it.

    • kingmidget December 28, 2014 at 7:48 pm

      No one has and I don’t expect anybody to … more because, like I said in the post, it seems the overwhelming majority of my readers are of a like mind. It seems that this blogging thing is more appealing to liberals than conservatives. At least in the portion of the blogosphere that I inhabit.

      • Amy Reese December 28, 2014 at 8:01 pm

        That isn’t a necessarily a bad thing, is it? It would be nice to hear an actual discussion though instead of all the name calling. That gets old, is old…

      • kingmidget December 28, 2014 at 8:05 pm

        Nope, not a bad thing, except I would also like to have an actual, rational conversation and it seems virtually impossible to find on the internet. I don’t know how much you follow the Sacramento Bee’s website, but for years they allowed just about anybody to comment and it was pretty ugly and nasty. Then they ratcheted up the control on comments and won’t allow anybody to comment anonymously. There are now virtually no comments on any article on their website. That, to me, is incredibly telling.

        It is the name calling that is compelling me to try to dial back on my reading of political blogs. Not very successfully yet.

      • Amy Reese December 28, 2014 at 8:08 pm

        Good luck with that, Mark. Most people just want to say nasty things, especially on the Internet. I’m not surprised the paper shut down the comments.

Leave a Reply

