KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Moment


IMG_3932

Back in the old days, before digital cameras, it was difficult to take pictures when the sun is in front of you instead of behind you.  I’m sure there was a way, but that would probably involve way more about f-stops and apertures and shutter speeds and god knows what else than I ever wanted to learn.  When I was a kid, I remember my parents telling me that the sun had to be at your back to take good pictures.

Apparently, that principle doesn’t apply to this new-fangled technology called digital photography.  Yes, this has become one of my favorite kinds of picture to take.  What do you think?

I took this picture today while walking along the American River in the William Pond Recreation Area.  It is one of many parks that provide access to the river along the American River Parkway, which is an incredible natural setting that winds its way through the urban heart of Sacramento and its suburbs.

10 responses to “A Moment

  1. sknicholls December 27, 2014 at 4:56 pm

    I love the way the rays splay around that big ball of fire in the sky 🙂

  2. Kevin Brennan December 27, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    Love it. Could have been taken on another planet altogether. I have a similar photo with that big X in the sky too!

  3. William C. Paxson December 27, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    Where were you standing when you took that picture?

  4. Deliberately Delicious January 1, 2015 at 8:10 pm

    I really like the direction you’re taking in your blog (and in your life too, I suspect). It has to be good when we stop and pay attention to the beauty in our everyday lives…

Leave a Reply

