KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.


I’m an atheist, and one of the things I am absolutely tired of hearing about is how humans need religion in their lives to be and act morally.  It’s outrageous.  So, I’m declaring war on the idea that morality is strictly the providence of the religious.

atheists-torture

You tell me.  Take a look at that chart and tell me who has morality and who doesn’t.  Let me give you a clue … it aint the non-religious folks who condone torture.  In reality it appears to be, well, a huge majority of the religious who condone torture.

So, do me a favor.  Next time you want to spout off about the morality of the religious as opposed to the lack of said morality in us atheists … re-consider the argument.  BECAUSE IT IS FUNDAMENTALLY UNTRUE!

7 responses to “

  1. Kevin Brennan December 24, 2014 at 8:50 am

    Man, I am totally with you on this one. I’ve had long arguments with Christian friends about the basis of morality, and they never have an adequate answer for poll results like this. “You can’t go by polls,” is the usual response. Atheists (like you and me) score very high on moral philosophy issues.

  2. Philip Walter December 27, 2014 at 10:56 am

    The last thing you need is religion in your life 🙂

  3. Trent Lewin December 28, 2014 at 9:42 pm

    It’s a misdirection at its heart. Morality can only be defined by a higher being… common assertion meant to muck things up. Yes, people have inherent goodness (I believe) but that doesn’t prove a higher being.

    • kingmidget December 29, 2014 at 8:28 pm

      That’s what I believe, too … inherent goodness. It’s the experiences of life that screw a lot of us up. And there are plenty of believers who are just as screwed up, if not more, than a lot of non-believers.

Leave a Reply

