KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Book Review My Way — American Innovations by Rivka Galchen


And now for something completely different.  I’ll spare you all of the details of what other reviewers have to say and what the book is all about.  I’ll just leave it at this.

American Innovations is a collection of short stories by Rivka Galchen.  I made it into the third story before I put the book down and gave up.  Maybe it was me, I feel like there was some swirliness in my head when I started this book.  Maybe I just couldn’t focus on what I was reading.  Maybe it wasn’t me.  Isn’t that one of the reasons we read … to be able to escape the swirliness in our heads.  To escape for a few moments and live in a different place.  If the material can’t do that, maybe it’s not worth the effort.  That’s how I feel about American Innovations.  So, I set it aside for the next book on my list.

Am I glad I looked into the library and got this book there.  If I had paid $9.78 (the Kindle price for this) I would have been sorely disappointed.

Onward and upward to book #4 in my quest to read every book on the New York Times Notable Books of 2014.

So, far, I’ve “read” three books.  I’d rank them like this.

All Our Names by Dinaw Mengestu

All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld

American Innovations by Rivka Galchen

So far, it’s not even close.  All Our Names in a landslide.

4 responses to “A Book Review My Way — American Innovations by Rivka Galchen

  1. TamrahJo December 12, 2014 at 10:00 am

    Hard sometimes to tell if its the book or where we, the readers, are, eh? I’m quick to lay down the book or shut off the dvd, only to sometimes revisit it years later and think “this is wonderful! Why did I wait so long?” LOL

  2. Amy Reese December 12, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    That’s a great goal to read all the books on the NY list. I hope the next one is better.

  3. Pingback: A Book Review Update | KingMidget's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

