KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

An Update


Since I just broke my blogging moratorium, I thought I’d let my regular readers in on where I am these days:

I had lunch with Zoe, my writing guru, last weekend.  She talked about how I should consider making a daily appointment to write.  The next day, I read a comment from the founder of StoryADay.org about how she commits to writing 300 words a day and, if she fulfills that commitment, she’ll have 10,000 words every month.  I decided to listen to them.  Starting December 2, I have made an appointment every day to write 300 words.  I’m working on part two of Northville and have showed up each day to produce the required word count.  It’s working so far.  Let’s see if I can keep it up.

I’m still running, although I haven’t for the last week because of a head cold.  I’ve decided to eliminate longer runs for now because the last one seemed to do something to me for a few days.  Several weeks ago, I went for a 7 mile run on a Saturday and for several days after I was just not right.  It’s impossible to describe and it may have been completely unrelated to the run, but things were just off.  So, instead of trying to ramp up the mileage on individual runs, my objective is to run 3.5 miles as many days of the week as I can.  I did that during Thanksgiving Week when I was off work.  Let’s see how I do now that my head cold is disappearing and I’m back at work.

And, then there’s all of those other things I blog about every now and then.  Let’s just say I’m a work in progress.  And always will be.

5 responses to “An Update

  1. Carrie Rubin December 6, 2014 at 6:40 am

    Three-hundred words is a sane goal. Makes it so much more doable. And I suspect many days, you’ll end up with more. Good luck maintaining your momentum. Nice to hear you’re writing again.

    • kingmidget December 6, 2014 at 6:43 am

      Thank you. It will be interesting what happens with this story. I’m not liking what I’m writing, but I’m letting it go for now anyway. This story may end up being one that goes through massive re-write at a later date, which is not usually how I do things.

  2. sknicholls December 6, 2014 at 6:54 am

    #00 well-written words a day beats 1500 poorly written words any day. I’m glad to know you are writing again.

Leave a Reply

