KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

My Story


Fifty years ago, at the quiet hour of 9:29 p.m., yours truly was born.  The youngest of four, I lived a quiet childhood.  At least from my perspective.  I tried to do nothing that would draw attention to myself.  I wanted to live in the shadows and had no interest in the spotlight.

When I was four, I had my tonsils removed.  Then, I spent a couple of weeks in the hospital with a staph infection in my knee — what the docs first thought was cancer.  I started kindergarten on crutches, or what I called crunches at the time.

And here’s where I was going to launch into a grand explanation of my life so far.  I’ve thought about this post for the last few days.  All sorts of things I wanted to share.  The grand story that explains why I am where I am.  The only problem is … now that I sit down and write it, I don’t see the point.  It is what it is.  Rehashing it serves no purpose other than for me to wallow in it.  And maybe, just maybe, that’s a sign of a small step of progress that I’m making.  Blogging about where I’m at and where I’ve been doesn’t actually do anything or mean anything.

So, instead … I’ll just leave it at this.

I have spent my life trying to figure it out.  The problem is that I don’t even know what the “it” is that I’m trying to figure out.  I started this blog several years ago, for no other reason then to just blog.  To write about what ever I felt like writing about.

It worked for awhile.  Then it, along with all of the other bloggers I started to follow and read regularly, became a distraction.

I’m done with the distractions.  Yes, you’ve heard this before.  But I mean it this time.  This blog is going dark for awhile.  More than a day, a week, or a month.

I’m on vacation.  Trying to figure out what the “it” is and how I can find it and wallow in it instead of what I’ve been wallowing in for far too long.

Sincerely,

King Midget

P.S.  Don’t worry about me.  I’m THE eternal optimist.  And I’m going backpacking in 2015 for the first time in my life.  Guaranteed.

9 responses to “My Story

  1. Trent Lewin October 28, 2014 at 1:50 am

    And for that I’m glad Mark – as much as I like reading you, the “it” (which none of us have really figured out, I think), is worth chasing down, stuffing in that backpack, and carrying up the next hill. I hope the journey’s great. I hope it’s fucking fantastic. When you come back – and I hope you will – we’ll be here.

  2. sknicholls October 28, 2014 at 7:26 am

    We’ll miss you, but know it is sometimes just that thing to do. Enjoy your time away. I agree with Trent, whole-heartedly.

  3. Gibber October 28, 2014 at 8:45 am

    All the past on the next part of your journey. 🙂

  4. Carrie Rubin October 28, 2014 at 9:09 am

    Happy Birthday and good luck finding the “it.” When you do, please be sure to come back and blog about it. The rest of us are dying to know, too!

  5. Amy Reese November 11, 2014 at 10:35 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday, Mark! I hope you’re having a blast on your vacation or are you back? I totally get the distraction part and I most certainly have not figured out “it” either, if it’s any consolation. Nope! The older I get, the less I know. My mom fell recently and suffered a mini stroke. That kind of thing puts it in perspective for me. I want to write a book while she can still read it! That’s my kick in the pants. Hope all is well with you. Take heart. I think we’re all confused here on Earth.

    • kingmidget November 12, 2014 at 6:38 am

      I’m still taking a break from blogging. But I’m still reading other people’s blogs — which I need to spend less time doing. I need to break the daily addiction of the web. For you it’s your mother. For me, the kick in the pants is the recognition that I’ll never get out of my dreaded 8-5 state job unless I figure out a way to make some money with my writing. 😉

Leave a Reply

