KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The Arrival of a Curse


I’m sitting here watching the Giants game.  It’s a tense 2-2 tie entering the bottom of the 6th inning, when the wheels fall off the bus and the Royals score 5 runs.  What?  Huh? Something happened here.  The planets are out of alignment.  The trains have stopped running on time.  Children are crying.  Storm clouds are gathering.  In a small town in the middle of nowhere, a tear falls slowly down the dusty cheek of a migrant worker.  The President stops in mid-speech.  He doesn’t know why, but he does.  Cell phones disconnect.  Computer screens blink off and on, so quickly most don’t even see it.  Vladimir Putin gives back Crimea.  Life as we know it has stopped.  SOMETHING HAPPENED!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Multi-tasker that I am, I’m on my laptop at the same time.  I check in with WordPress as the inning of horror winds to a close and I find this comment:

2-2 bottom of the 6th in game 2… I have a feeling the Royals are going to get outclassed by the Giants. Just a feeling. I’m the last one to say that recent World Series experience is a key determinant (I think talent and to some extent, in a 7-game series, luck wins), but the Giants seem to be calmer at the plate and on the mound.

This is just not the type of thing one says at this point in a game.  In a World Series.  You just don’t say these kind of things.  Why?  Because when you do, bad things happen.  It really doesn’t matter, the opposite of what you say is what will happen.  So, yeah, Trent Lewin, I’m calling you out on this.  I’m blaming you.  For the sake of all that you hold dear, you better hope the end result of this series is good for the Giants.  Or I may just sick a bunch of furry-footed hobbits on you.

 

17 responses to “The Arrival of a Curse

  1. Amy Reese October 22, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    Just tell Trent to say something BAD about the Giants. Simple!! Easy peasy. All will be calm, the planets will realign, people will laugh, you will cry tears of joy!!!

  2. Kevin Brennan October 22, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    Hey, take it from me. It can get a lot worse. 😱

  3. John Callaghan October 22, 2014 at 9:22 pm

    Hahaha. Funny stuff. Maybe the Giants will sen someone over to his house to have a talk with him.

  4. Trent Lewin October 23, 2014 at 4:37 am

    Oh boy… I may be the new Bartman. Or maybe I could invoke the Curse of the Bambino, as it’s clearly not needed in Boston anymore, and swing it by… ha!

  5. sknicholls October 23, 2014 at 4:43 am

    In the hospital if anyone ever said it was quiet all hell broke loose. Same principle. Spirits are listening in the twilight zone.

    • kingmidget October 23, 2014 at 6:33 am

      I’m a firm believer in the butterfly effect. And that how I am sitting in my family room while watching a game on TV can affect the outcome. Why? Because I care that much.

  6. Anonymous October 23, 2014 at 8:20 pm

    sick=afflicted with ill health or disease
    sic=to incite to attack
    …just sayin’
    lol

  7. Gibber October 23, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    If I knew what all this sport Gibber Jabberin was about I’d say something but I don’t so I won’t! lol

Leave a Reply

