KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

More about School


I though of this analogy yesterday while sitting in classes seeing all these kids who didn’t seem to care.  It’s like a football game and they think the game hasn’t started yet.  They think the game starts later.  When they get to college.  When they get a job.  When they get married.  When they have a baby.  I’m not sure when exactly, but they think the game hasn’t started yet for them.  They’re in their pre-game routine.  Or they’re waiting for somebody to tell them in which direction to run.

The only problem is that the game has started and they’re falling behind.  They’re in the first quarter.  Score early, do the hard work now, and your chance of success is greater.  Fall behind early, due to lack of preparation or effort, and your chance of success is less.  The game has started, kiddoes, it’s time for a little effort and a score.

More importantly …

tarantula

I held a tarantula!!!

18 responses to “More about School

  1. Jennwith2ns October 14, 2014 at 7:12 am

    Reblogged this on That's a Jenn Story and commented:
    The Tuesday Reblog
    King Midget’s got it right. Listen up, kids.

  2. Carrie Rubin October 14, 2014 at 7:23 am

    Great analogy. Extra points for holding a tarantula. Yikes. I hope you took note of its texture and the sensation of it in crawling in your palms. You can use it in your writing!

  3. Pamela Beckford October 14, 2014 at 7:40 am

    Great analogy. However, I worry that some of our education thinks it has to start before they are in kindergarten. Expecting things out of five year olds that are not developmentally appropriate can lead to kids burning out on education. Plus, not every child wants to be on the varsity team or be the starting quarterback. Some kids are content with being the water boy – and there will always be a need for a water boy. I read your first blog on your day there and I think I would have been flummoxed by some of their teaching methods as well. Thankfully I can attest to the fact that those experiences are not everywhere.

    • kingmidget October 14, 2014 at 7:51 pm

      I tried to respond to this earlier today, but didn’t get it done. I agree that not every kid has to be the “greatest” and that the world needs waterboys. I have always believed that my kids do not need to go to college if they don’t want to … as long as they have a Plan B. The Issue I have with my own kids is that they have goals that require college and hard work — one wants to be an engineer, the other a vet. Yet, they refuse to recognize that they actually have to do something to make that happen. And now I’m beginning to realize also just how much the educational system has failed them.

  4. sknicholls October 14, 2014 at 8:38 am

    Yikes…creepy and cool. My daughter graduated with a 4.3 from high school as Salutatorian and held a 3.8 in college. She still, however, had to have a period of about four years to sow some wild oats. She’s been unemployed for five years and living in poverty, but she’s happy. My eldest son had a 2.5 in high school and has a job now earning more than I did when I retired as a nurse. I guess what I’m saying here is that success in high school is not always correlated to success in life. Just don’t give up on your sons.

    • kingmidget October 14, 2014 at 8:47 am

      I agree. And I’m an example sort of. I was lazy in high school and didn’t put a lot of effort into it. The thing was though that I could get good grades without effort. These kids are lazy and not getting good enough grades to achieve the ambitious, non-lazy goals they have for themselves.

      • sknicholls October 14, 2014 at 8:48 am

        Ha! Do they even have goals. The ones who do will probably succeed. It’s the ones who don’t that scare me.

      • kingmidget October 14, 2014 at 8:49 am

        My two boys have goals — one wants to be a vet, the other an engineer. And they refuse to work hard towards those goals.

      • sknicholls October 14, 2014 at 8:59 am

        Short story: My husband wanted to be an engineer in high school. Went to Junior College but really did not apply himself and dropped out after the first year to join his friend on a treasure hunting boat in the Keys. Stayed drunk and partied most of those years. His parents thought he was a lost cause, but sent him money to live from time to time when he got into trouble. When he had enough of it, he moved back home at age 24 and somehow got accepted into Cornell (had some nice reference letters). Graduated with honors. There is hope.

      • kingmidget October 14, 2014 at 7:17 pm

        I haven’t given up hope. Just don’t see any reason I should continue putting effort into what they’re currently unwilling to put their own effort into.

      • kingmidget October 14, 2014 at 7:19 pm

        Oops. Hit Reply before I was done … and when they finally figure it out, it’ll be on them, not on me. I have no interest in “sending them money” past a certain point.

  5. John Callaghan October 14, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    Hahahaha. I bet the tarantula is more motivated than the kids.

Leave a Reply

