KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I’m An Odd One


The older I get, the earlier I go to bed and the earlier I wake up in the morning.  It drives me crazy.  Jawbone, which makes one of those devices that you wear and it tracks your fitness activities and all other sorts of data points on your way of life, made a map of the United States based on when Jawbone users go to sleep.

It’s here.  Take a minute and go look at it.  No, please do.  Then I’ll tell you what’s wrong with the map.  Maybe you’ll guess.  Go.  Look.  I’ll wait.

I’ve still got a little time before bedtime.  Although my eyelids are getting droopy and the yawns are coming more and more frequently.  For years, I stayed up until 10:00 or 11:00 and the alarm had to wake me up at 7:00 or 7:30.  I’d hit the snooze button a few times and finally drag myself out of bed.  Then something weird happened.  I started waking up before the alarm went off.  Now, except for those rare days when I have to get up ridiculously early, I never use an alarm.  For a couple of years I just woke up around 6:30 automatically.  Then, it shifted to 6:00 – 6:15.  The last couple of months, it has shifted again, to 5:30 – 6:00.  I hate this change in my sleep habits.  I no longer know how to sleep in and I now find it virtually impossible to stay up as late as I used to.  Even on those rare weekend nights when something is going on and I stay up, I still wake up by 6:00.

A couple of nights ago, I went upstairs and started reading and was asleep before 9:00.  Most nights, it’s not quite that bad, but I’m asleep by 9:30 most of the time.  So, where do I fit in on the damn map?  That’s what I want to know.

13 responses to “I’m An Odd One

  1. Carrie Rubin October 8, 2014 at 8:13 pm

    Pretty soon you’ll be wearing sweaters on eighty degree days and popping Metamucil chews like Tic Tacs. 😉

  2. Dom DiFrancesco October 8, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    I’m with you on this one, bed by 9-9:30, up 5:30-5:45 and the weekends are no better. The party animal I once was is long gone. 🙂

    • kingmidget October 8, 2014 at 8:24 pm

      Yep. It’s not necessarily that I even want to party. It just would be nice to be able to stay awake past 9:30. Or when I get together with friends and I do stay up later to not spend the hours from 9:00 until whenever yawning every ten seconds. And then still wake up at 6:00 the next morning!

  3. John Callaghan October 8, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    Would you going to bed earlier have anything to do with you taking up running again?

  4. sknicholls October 8, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    My grandfather always went to bed at sundown and got up at five or six. He lived to be 93, and was quite active to the end on the farm. Your running does you good. My poor little nursing home patients never slept. Their days were pretty dreary by comparison.

    • kingmidget October 9, 2014 at 6:24 am

      I can imagine that if you don’t really do much throughout the day it would be difficult to sleep. The reality for me is that part of this is that I am so drained at the end of the day by my job and by other things that are going on, it’s difficult to keep going once I get home and have had dinner. It’s yet another reason I’m struggling with writing these days as well. I just don’t have the mental or emotional energy to do much other than veg for an hour or two, then read, and close my eyes.

Leave a Reply

