KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Just Because


20140926-113317.jpg

5 responses to “Just Because

  1. Trent Lewin September 26, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    No other reason necessary… um, where is that? I think I saw a place in the bay area like that…

    • kingmidget September 26, 2014 at 7:13 pm

      Well, now you get a story. A couple of days ago, I went for a short walk with two of my best friends. They are both former colleagues of mine who now work for a different state agency than I. They are both women who, in different ways, have been incredibly supportive of me in working through my trials and tribulations over the years. One of them talked about how she makes a point of taking her time, stopping to smell the roses, on her walk into work. She tries to walk different ways and stops to look at things that interest her. We talked about how important it was to take control over some slice of our day, even if just a sliver of time. So, today, I stepped out of the office for a few minutes just before lunch and decided to just walk for a few minutes. The picture is taken from the center of Cesar Chavez Plaza in downtown Sacramento. The building in the background is City Hall — a building that has been around for probably 150 years. I walked to the plaza for no reason other than that it is there and I just wanted to walk there. I then saw a picture emerging and what you see is the result. Not sure about how great it is, but it’s what I had in mind. And, then I went back to my office, ate my leftover spaghetti and got on with the day. But that little sliver … made a difference.

Leave a Reply

