KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Want To Live Until I’m 80


I’ve always been a “thoughtful” person.  My dad says so.  He even wrote it down somewhere.  I think of that in two ways … I try to be thoughtful of others and I am always thinking.  I am, to take the word literally, full of thoughts, which is what my dad meant when he wrote it.  One of the things I regularly and frequently think of is the years ahead of me.  It becomes more and more relevant the older I get.  As I approach the age of 50, as I approach the beginning of the five year countdown to when I can “retire” from my state job, as I approach the first day of the rest of my life, I find myself thinking more and more about what I want that life to be.  I have taken to saying lately that I want to live until I’m 80 and then drop dead the next day.  This piece provides the best explanation of why.  It’s a long article, read the whole thing.  I really like his idea of what he will do with his health care once he hits certain age mileposts.

Money quote:

over the past 50 years, health care hasn’t slowed the aging process so much as it has slowed the dying process

The author picks 75, I pick 80.  The reality is that it’s not a definite number, but he’s right.  There is a point at which we are no longer living.  Instead, we are beginning to die.  It is that moment at which I hope to drop dead.  I have no interest in going through the dying process once I have had the opportunity to live a full life.  I think about it this way and it’s comparable to the author’s.  If I retire at 55 and live to 80, that will provide me with 25 years to live my life as I see fit.  Writing, cooking, painting, loving, and caring, experiencing life.  No longer confined by the dictates of a job, with kids who are grown and no longer dependent on me, there will probably be some grandkids to spoil, and I’ll have sufficient resources to see me through those years, not in style, but relative comfort, I will be able to spend those years doing what I want and, assuming all goes well, in relatively good health.  When I look at older folks around me, it seems that there is a point somewhere between 75 and 85 where the deterioration sets in.  It doesn’t hit everybody at the same point, but it does hit everybody at some point.  I want to be able to live those 25 years to their fullest and when I hit that point, push me over and I’ll be done and happy to have got as far as I did.

 

 

31 responses to “I Want To Live Until I’m 80

  1. Carrie Rubin September 24, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Keep exercising, eat well, and floss regularly and you’ve got a good shot at it. But maybe avoid skydiving. 😉

    • kingmidget September 24, 2014 at 8:30 pm

      Hey, I just remembered something else I learned while in Illinois last week and it’s related to your comment. Gotta go post another thing. Oh, never mind, I’ll just share it with you. There are actual indoor skydiving places. I saw two of them between Chicago and Illinois. Never heard of them before. But even indoor, I ain’t skydiving. And, I also saw a movie theater that also served dinner. Again, nothing like that in California. A movie theater set up to serve dinner and you watch the movie while you eat?!?!? Who knew?! I thought trendy things like this were supposed to originate in California. But they ain’t here, that’s for sure.

      • Carrie Rubin September 24, 2014 at 8:35 pm

        I like the dinner and movie idea. Reminds me of the old days of Shakees Pizza. They’d show old Laurel and Hardy movies and the Three Stooges. Not sure if they had those pizza joints out your way.

      • kingmidget September 24, 2014 at 8:43 pm

        There were Shakey’s Pizzerias here. In fact, the original one opened in Sacramento decades ago. We also had Straw Hat when I was a kid and they would show old movies as well. But this theater I saw was for first run movies. My cousin’s husband took their daughter to see a movie there recently. Forget what it was, but it was one of this summer’s superhero movies.

      • kingmidget September 24, 2014 at 8:50 pm

        No worries. I knew what you were talking about. The original Shakey’s was an institution in Sacramento for about 40-50 years and then shut down as all such institutions seem to do after they have that kind of run. And most of the Straw Hats have gone away, but those that are still around don’t show the old movies any more. When I was a kid, after we got our report cards, the family would go to Straw Hat for our “report card treat.” That was the extent of the reward we got for getting the grades we were expected to get.

  2. sknicholls September 24, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    I love the services of Hospice for that very reason. Let me die with dignity. I’ve had a full and wonderful life.

    • kingmidget September 24, 2014 at 8:41 pm

      Yep. I like his idea that after a certain age he just won’t continue seeking medical care and if he is diagnosed with cancer, he won’t accept treatment. At some point, what’s the point of extending life.

      • sknicholls September 24, 2014 at 10:21 pm

        I was once asked by an insurance salesperson at work if I wanted to buy their cancer policy rider. When I declined, she pushed with scare tactics and it pissed me off, so I told her I already had a policy, and my policy was: If I get to the point where I can’t wipe my own butt or am in pain all the time or terminal, whatever the illness, sign me up for hospice and I’ll off myself.

      • kingmidget September 25, 2014 at 5:59 am

        Yep. I look at my in-laws. They are in their mid-80s and have almost no real quality of life left. My mother-in-law drove to a medical office earlier this week and hit a parked car while parking. Instead of leaving a note or waiting for the car’s owner to come out to let them know, she went into the office to do her business. Somebody witnessed it and left a note for the other driver and they’ve already contacted my mother-in-law. But that, after all these years of driving, she thought she could just walk away — apparently, she didn’t even look at the other car to see if it was damaged — is just amazing. Until you realize her age. Later that day, my sister-in-law had to talk my father-in-law into the necessity of calling their insurance company about it. They both have physical issues that are leaving them more and more incapacitated. Neither of them should be driving. They should be in an assisted living environment. But they aren’t and they seem unwilling to make the move they need to make. Or stop driving. It’s scary and I look at them and tell myself, I don’t want to end up how they are.

  3. Kevin Brennan September 24, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    This reminds me of Ruth Gordon in “Harold and Maude,” who said that after 80 you’re just marking time.

    Food for thought, but if I’m still feelin’ all right, I think I’ll stick around!

    PS — I was raised on Shakey’s Pizza. I think it got into my DNA…

  4. Trent Lewin September 25, 2014 at 6:58 pm

    Well, I’m less ambitious. I just want to live long enough to see Star Wars Episodes VII through IX. Ha!

  5. Gibber September 25, 2014 at 8:17 pm

    Those movies you and Trendy Trent talk about will put you in an early grave. If you want to live until 80 just watch them when you turn 80 and you’re golden. 😉

Leave a Reply

