KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

There is This and there is That


Just about a month ago, I wrote this.  It was an update of sorts about three things near and dear to me … running, writing, and beer.

So, it’s been a month.  Maybe it’s time for an update.

Running

Has been going really, really, really good.  Although I’m running much slower than I did before my groin injury, I a  m running four to five miles three or four times a week.  The tightness in the ol’ groin is lessening and the runs are feeling easier.  The next hurdle will be seeing what happens when I quicken my pace.  There’s another challenge as well.  I’ll be on the road most of this week.  I’m going to Chicago for a conference and then spending a couple of extra days there to spend time with a cousin and her family.  I really want to continue running while I’m there — something I’ve never really done while on the road.  But I think it’s important this time.  I’ve crossed a threshold with running and I want to maintain it.  I don’t want to let it slide.  We’ll see what happens.

Writing

Northville Part Two is progressing.  Slowly, but surely.  I’m over 6,000 words.  A beta reader who read Northville Five and Dime has read what I’ve written so far on Part Two and has given me her blessing.  My concern is that I continue the story consistently with part one.  The rhythm and flow need to be maintained.  She told me I’ve done that.  So, now I’m ready to keep working on it.  the biggest problem with this story is that I have absolutely no idea what’s going to happen in the next 25,000 words.  I have one or two grand concepts, but the details and the ending of it all is completely dark to me.  As a result, every chapter is like starting a new story.  What happens next.  Where is this all headed.  I see virtually none of the road ahead whenever I open up the document and start to write.

I’m taking my tablet with me.  I’ll be on an airplane for four hours, then spending a lot of time looking for things to do.  I’m committed to seeing what I can do with Northville Part Two while I’m gone.  If I had to set a goal, I’d like to get to 15,000 words on it in the next week.  That would be more writing than I’ve ever done in a week, but I think I could do it if I commit to it.  But, if things happen, I’ll be happy with 10,000-12,000.

The Beer Thing

It is a work in progress.  Always a work in progress.  I’m keeping it under control while not engaging in total abstinence.

 

So, that’s the update on the “big three.”  When I started writing this post, I thought of this other thing.  I turn 50 next month.  To me, it’s a number that is no different than any other number related to age.  That there is a zero on the end does not change the significance.  But, I thought of something.  A friend turned 52 this year and decided she wanted to try 52 new things this year — like taking a sushi-making class, going ziplining, making a strawberry rhubarb pie.  I have a different twist to it.  By the time I turn 50 at the end of October, I want to come up with a list of 50 things I will no longer do.  That sounds negative.  I think it’s the opposite — it’s about identifying the 50 things that take me away from being myself, from doing what I want to do, from doing what I need to do.  It’s about improving myself and my life through the elimination of the negative.  We’ll see if I can come up with that list.  I have a few ideas.  I’m not sure if I can get to 50.

20 responses to “There is This and there is That

  1. sknicholls September 14, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    I am laughing about the age fifty thing. Those things you no longer do sort of sneak up on by about age fifty anyways…like: can no longer touch your toes, can no longer see to thread a needle, can no longer get up out of the floor unassisted, oh geez…I could go on and on. But I get it. Eliminating the useless wastes of time and energy.

    • kingmidget September 14, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      I’m thinking of more profound things … like no longer engaging in useless political comment firestorms. 😉 I have, by the way, never been able to touch my toes without bending my knees.

      • sknicholls September 14, 2014 at 8:25 pm

        I couldn’t walk four miles, much less run four. I don’t know if I could walk two. We went out to eat tonight and found what we thought was an easy parking space. Turns out, it was deceivingly on the BACK of the building. My husband, who is sixty, and I were both whining about having to walk around the entire building to get to the front door. By the time we were going through the front door we were both in hysterical laughter about what wusses we’ve turned into.

      • kingmidget September 14, 2014 at 8:27 pm

        Oh, I hate walking. I run for exercise, but if I have to walk … ergh!!!!

  2. Carrie Rubin September 14, 2014 at 8:25 pm

    I like the idea of listing 50 things you’ll never do again. There are plenty of things I’d be happy not doing again. Maybe when I turn 50 I’ll give myself permission to do so.

    Glad to hear you’re still writing.

  3. Vince Dickinson September 14, 2014 at 11:27 pm

    Good job on the running! I hope you get even more momentum with your next story!

  4. Justine September 14, 2014 at 11:48 pm

    Lol. My husband turns 50 end of October as well. Not sure what profound things he wants to do. All l I know is I’ve been banned from doing a surprise party…the thought hadn’t occurred to me as I knew he’d hate it!

    • kingmidget September 15, 2014 at 6:43 am

      Yes. My wife turned 50 earlier this year. I planned things for her for five weekends in a row. The family get together. The get together with this group of friends and that group of friends. A day with just our boys and me. She asked me what I wanted for my birthday. My response “no get togethers.” I don’t need a party and definitely not a surprise party. What I want is a day at the beach, staring at the waves.

  5. runningtoherdreams September 15, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    I am so happy for you with all you are doing for yourself! ❤️ I love the 50 idea, I have a b-day coming in a few months and I’m sure there is X number of things I could not do! 😊

  6. Trent Lewin September 15, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    You know what I figure, the running and the writing will eventually reduce the drinking anyway. Good habits dispel bad habits? Maybe.

  7. melissa nacinovich September 16, 2014 at 2:16 pm

    Hey! Glad to see that you’re making progress on your big three : ) How’s the foot?
    I don’t know if I could come up with 50 things I should stop doing. I guess that’s a good thing? lol

Leave a Reply

