KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Apologize in Advance


I may piss people off with this … but I’m troubled by the reaction to Ray Rice.

First, let me say this.  There is no place in the world for domestic violence.  There is no place in the world for men to hit women, abuse women, assault women, punch them into unconsciousness.  What Ray Rice did to his fiancee is disgusting and there is no excuse for it.  No plausible justification.  I will not ever condone somebody doing anything like what Ray Rice did.

That all said…

We’re talking about the NFL.  American Football.  Where the point of the game is to destroy the opponent.  To tackle them and slam their bodies to the ground.  Many of these athletes have been playing the game since they first were able to walk.  They are worshipped and treated as heroes for nothing more than the ability to pound their opponent into the ground.  It is a violent game.  The most violent of the major sports in this country.  OK, hockey is a close second.

I just have a real problem with the league and its owners profiting off of such a violent game acting so outraged at something like this.  It seems massively hypocritical.  But, then, that is what ultimately defines the NFL these days … hypocrisy.

 

25 responses to “I Apologize in Advance

  1. John Callaghan September 8, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    Hmm. I sort of see what you’re saying but I don’t agree. Firstly I think football is so much more than a contest of pounding violence. It is a complicated, intricate, game that depends on many moving parts all acting and knowing what the other parts are doing. I think that in football the context is a contest between equal opponents who have all agreed to a set of rules and conduct before hand. Each party knows what to expect, and the risks that may be incurred, and all things being equal the match will be fair and challenging. To go from that type of mutual contest to knocking out a woman who is physically defenceless is an exceptional action that has much less to do with football and much more to with the culture he was raised, the home he came from, or perhaps a brain that doesn’t function properly If you knock your wife out with a left hook and then leave her lying unconscious for several minutes then that is on you and speaks to the man you are and not the sport you play.

    • kingmidget September 8, 2014 at 8:57 pm

      Can’t disagree with anything you say. And much of it I thought of adding to my post when I was writing it. But I still feel like this reeks of hypocrisy, at least at a minimal level.

      • John Callaghan September 8, 2014 at 9:02 pm

        What I find so repugnant is that had the video not been released of what happened in the elevator they would have gladly swept this under the rug. That is a troubling culture but we are talking about a major amount of money and a PR nightmare so I’m sure they were hoping this would go away.

      • kingmidget September 9, 2014 at 6:08 am

        Most definitely true. By the way, with respect to your prior comment, I think you romanticize football a bit. While you are correct that there is much about football that isn’t about smashing the opponent into bits, all you have to do is listen to coaches and the message they deliver to their players, listen to fans reactions to plays on the field, and see how the media promotes the game — it aint about the intricate movements of players on the field. It’s about the violence on the field.

      • John Callaghan September 9, 2014 at 8:55 am

        But I like the violence. On the field.

      • kingmidget September 9, 2014 at 7:04 pm

        It’s interesting. I have a contradictory view of the NFL. I abhor the violence of the game and the injuries and what the game does to its players. But, I equally think the NFL is ruining the game with all of its attempts to make the game safer for the players. I think we’re down to one square inch of the QBs body that can be touched for a sack to be legal. Ultimately, though, I’m a baseball fan. The NFL could wither and die and I wouldn’t care.

      • John Callaghan September 9, 2014 at 7:37 pm

        My wife is a huge baseball fan and follows the CFL (Canadian football). I love football, both the CFL and the NFL. But my big passion is MMA. I loved the sport for many years. It’s a little more violent than football. I’ve always been very drawn to the violent side of sports. Must be the Irish in me.

      • kingmidget September 10, 2014 at 6:32 am

        I’m intrigued by the violence while being repulsed by it at the same time.

  2. Vince Dickinson September 8, 2014 at 10:49 pm

    I’m not upset. He played for my team. But he has to go. You don’t excuse soldiers using violence when they get home from war. But we do counsel them about their battle-field feelings. The NFL has a responsibility to teach these young men that they need to respect people and not be violent off the field.

  3. Trent Lewin September 9, 2014 at 3:45 am

    Yah I’m not upset. I say get rid of this guy, and ban football. Also fighting and hard checking hockey, and boxing. I don’t understand the age-old desire to hit people. That’s what it is. Anyway, just kidding, I’m not judging, but I wouldn’t likely let my kids play any of these sports.

    Ray Rice sounds like a fool.

    • kingmidget September 9, 2014 at 6:10 am

      The older I get, the less I enjoy the violence inherent in our culture. I’m tired of the constant drumbeat of it. Yes, he’s a fool. Yes, he should be gone from the NFL. I just find it odd that the NFL is taking a stand against violence, no matter how much they screwed this one up.

      • Trent Lewin September 10, 2014 at 4:47 am

        I think they should trash the NFL. It’s a league and sport riddled with everything that I believe to be wrong about North American culture.

        Just to be controversial… I long for the days when baseball ruled the American conscience.

      • kingmidget September 10, 2014 at 6:39 am

        Completely agree. The NFL and its fans can’t be satisfied with Sundays and Mondays. Now they own Thursdays and some Saturday evenings. It’s not about putting a product out there that people can enjoy. It’s about that and absolute total domination of the sports and culture landscapes. I think the NFL has now become too big and it’s going to start slipping. In its effort to be all things to all people to assure maximum domination, it is becoming something far different than what it was originally. Or, maybe I’m just hoping …

        I, too, dream of the days when baseball was it.

  4. Pamela Beckford September 9, 2014 at 4:01 am

    I’m a huge NFL fan, but they are hitting other players and players who are usually protected with padding, etc. Hitting an unprotected non-player is outrageous. The league banned Michael Vick for dog fighting and it is time that we/they actually think a woman (a real live human being) is worth more than a dog. As for the comments I’ve been hearing about her staying with him, people have no idea unless they have been a domestic violence victim how their minds work. I could go on and on for days about this whole subject but I will be quiet now (especially since my thoughts seem to be a bit disjointed)

    • kingmidget September 9, 2014 at 6:12 am

      Yes, we talked about this at dinner last night. Somebody in my family made a comment about how “stupid” she was. To which I responded that there’s no telling what is going on in her mind and to call a victim of domestic violence stupid is to completely ignore the dynamics of domestic violence and what it does to the victim. I totally get the difference between sanctioned violence between consenting adults on the playing field and that between a man and a woman, but still this whole thing just feels off to me.

  5. TamrahJo September 9, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    IMHO – The NFL and other like organizations are completely responsible for there being less wars than there are – – I don’t have to worry about my male neighbor riding over the crest of the hill, taking my livestock, killing my spouse and raping me, because his need for competition is fulfilled by Monday-Morning-Water-Cooler-Generalship – i.e. talking about what the coaches and players did wrong on the battlefield and how, if they just fix that, they can win next weekend….. LOL!

    I did try to respond to the email you gave me – trying once more in case I mistyped, so don’t give up on me, but my original response this weekend came back “no such user” so either you or I mistyped! Will try again! 🙂

    • TamrahJo September 9, 2014 at 8:28 pm

      PS – Was once married to a man who thought it appropriate to drop kick me across the living room – I wasn’t raised in a house with this kind of behavior and I wasn’t on drugs/alcohol at that time – the stereotype of the ‘typical domestic violence’ victim is ludicrous – which I convinced my future sister-in-law when she informed me of her hypothesis for her doctoral thesis on why women end up in domestic violence situations – and lest I sound prejudiced, I knew a man once who put up with violent physical behavior from his wife, because he loved his kids and was afraid, if he spoke up or left, he’d never see his kids again – – So, it goes both ways – Arseholes are what they are, regardless of gender – –
      🙂

      • kingmidget September 10, 2014 at 6:36 am

        I’m sorry to hear you were a victim of DV. You’re right though, there are no stereotypes that apply here. It’s one of the things I hate about how our media and culture tries to classify and simplify things. I had a girlfriend in my 20s who I refer to now as my psycho-girlfriend from hell. She slapped me when she got angry. It lasted for a year until I told her no more and made it clear I meant it. I then spent two and a half more years with her trying to figure out how to break up with her because of other threats she made. So, I get why people stay. And I get the feeling of the man who didn’t leave because he loved his kids.

    • kingmidget September 10, 2014 at 6:33 am

      Got your second email. Thanks. You may be right about the impact of the NFL on warring savages.

      • TamrahJo September 10, 2014 at 7:49 am

        It’s a story I made up to try to understand the allure of contact sports 🙂 In high school, I was the photographer for the yearbook, so I got to be right down on the sidelines – It changed me forever – I stood less than 3 feet away and listened as the air was knocked from the body of a tackled quarterback – I heard the straining and groaning of wrestlers locked in mortal combat and I cried inside at the damage done to young bodies as the result of ‘sport’ – – I know, I’m a softie, girlie-girl, etc., but the game, when viewed up close, becomes such a horrific field of violence to my mind and I just do not understand why people sign up for it – 🙂 Life deals enough physical blows all on it’s own, without us beating each other up on purpose for fun. LOL

      • kingmidget September 10, 2014 at 8:08 am

        Fans sitting in their homes or in the stands are immune to all of this. I look at what football does to a lot if players after they retire and just don’t get it. For far too many, their quality of life goes down dramatically once they stop playing. But I guess it’s worth it for their few years of glory. I don’t know.

      • TamrahJo September 10, 2014 at 7:58 am

        Just ordered Weed Therapy! Thanks! 🙂

      • kingmidget September 10, 2014 at 8:09 am

        Thank you. Give me your honest opinion when you’re done with it.

      • TamrahJo September 10, 2014 at 11:56 am

        But of course – and are there any other kinds of opinions than honest ones? Really?!? I never knew…. LOL

Leave a Reply

