KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Not Writing


I certainly hope this works for me, because it’s pretty much where I’m at.

4 responses to “Not Writing

  1. sknicholls September 3, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    Well that was just cool. He writes well and should keep writing, when it suits him, and so should you 😉

  2. Carrie Rubin September 3, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    What a timely article for what we were recently discussing. It’s a great piece, and it’s vantage point is not one I’ve really encountered before. Usually it’s always, “Oh, you must write every day.” Hayes has an interesting take on it. (And of course, I like that he compared writing to exercise!)

    • kingmidget September 3, 2014 at 12:58 pm

      Yes to all that. Stuck in the mode I am in his view is refreshing and it’s consistent with how I’m approaching writing day to day. For years, I felt like I had to at least try to write every day and as it became more and more difficult to do so, my frustration grew. Over the last couple if months, my view has changed. I don’t have to write every day. I have to write when a line comes to me and it offers me a path to more lines.

  3. Kevin Brennan September 3, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    Good piece, and probably relevant to more writers than would admit it! I have no affinity for personal training, but I do find similar ideas in practicing music.

    Whatever floats the creative boat, eh?

Leave a Reply

