KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Must Read


It’s long, but you need to read it any way.  The last hermit?

 

“I’m not used to seeing people’s faces,” he said. “There’s too much information there. Aren’t you aware of it? Too much, too fast.”

I lost my identity. With no audience, no one to perform for, I was just there. There was no need to define myself; I became irrelevant. The moon was the minute hand, the seasons the hour hand. I didn’t even have a name. I never felt lonely. To put it romantically: I was completely free.

 

3 responses to “A Must Read

  1. Pamela Beckford August 23, 2014 at 4:52 am

    Interesting, in a sad sort of way

  2. sknicholls August 23, 2014 at 9:35 am

    Wow…I mean really, just wow! I read this last night and read it again this morning. I wanted time to sleep on it. I think Michael Finkel, as a journalist, did a remarkable job preparing a non-judgmental article about this guy. I read many of the comments this morning also. Obviously, many don’t understand Asperger’s. I hate labels, but this is classic in the most extreme. And most psych disorders present SXs with their first psychotic break between ages 19-25. Most resolve over six months whether or not they are treated. He may have had some delusional thinking the ebbed and flowed. He never really says if there was a trigger that sent him into the woods to start with. (Chernobyl?)

    There was a time in my youth when I might have done the same had I not been female. In GA dogs would have found me out and I’m surprised they didn’t, if they were used, in this case.

    Not being completely self-sufficient bothers me, honestly. He lived on the fringe of society but not totally independent of it. I have read other stories which intrigued me more. That he took ownership of his wrongs is applaudable, and that the legal system did not punish him more harshly is also commendable.

    The quotes you posted above are quite profound, whether he intended them to be or not. I hope he finds his peace in this world, or a way to live in that can provide him the comfort he needs.

Leave a Reply

