KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Really Can’t Stand Hillary … Why I May Just Vote for a Republican


I have written before about my dislike of the fact that we have spent the last 26 years in a vortex of Bushes and Clintons being a part of Presidential tickets.  Actually, now that I think about it, it goes back 34 years, because the first Bush was VP under Reagan.  Think about it, seven of the last nine Presidential elections have included either a Bush or a Clinton or both on the ballot.  And, now, with 2016 fast approaching, it looks like Hillary is inevitable and Jeb Bush may just throw his hat in the ring as well.  I’m hoping that Hillary is as inevitable as she turned out to be in 2008.  I am done with the political family dynasties that seem to have developed over the past few decades.  Maybe it says something about us and how we have destroyed our political system, or maybe it says something about those two families and their never-ending quest for power.

Anyway, I want them both gone.  I really can’t stand Hillary and wish there was another reasonable option on the Democrat side.  Hillary has all of the cold, political calculation of her husband, but none of the charisma or political skills that mask that calculation.  If she’s the Democrat nominee, all it would take is a Republican who is willing to depart from the Republican orthodoxy and I would seriously consider voting for a Republican — to keep Hillary away from the Presidency and end the Clinton dynasty.

So, along comes this guy.  I still worry that he’s a bit of a whacko.  He has definitely wandered along the edge of the fringe element of the right wing here in this country.  But there is a lot I like about him.  He has a more isolationist approach to foreign policy that recognizes that we can’t solve the world’s problems and shouldn’t keep trying to do so.  And when it comes to what government can and cannot do, I’m okay with somebody who may shake things up a bit.  I’m a bleeding heart liberal who firmly believes in the value of social programs and interventions, but I also think that there is an inevitability to the  overreach and bloat of government and I wouldn’t mind a bit of a revolution in the way things happen in this country.

That’s one of the reasons I was so excited by the Obama candidacy back in 2008.  He offered an alternative to the status quo, the way that things had happened for decades.  The problem he ran into is that he didn’t have the power to overcome the status quo and the rock solid opposition to his quest for change.

So, fine, let’s roll the dice again.  Because the reality is that our system is fundamentally broken and I’m ready for a revolution in how we govern this country.

And Rand Paul challenges the Republican orthodoxy.  Read the article I linked to.  He challenges law enforcement.  He recognizes that race still plays a huge role in our criminal justice system and in our society.  At the same time that he clearly plans on running for the Republican nomination for President in 2016, Rand Paul is willing to say that law enforcement has gone too far.  Tell me the last time you’ve heard a Republican say that.

I know that a lot will happen in the next two years and that Rand Paul has said some pretty crazy things in the past, but I’m intrigued.

 

11 responses to “I Really Can’t Stand Hillary … Why I May Just Vote for a Republican

  1. John Callaghan August 15, 2014 at 8:19 pm

    Ooooweee. I love the American nominations and presidential elections. I read Game Change a few years ago and I loved it. The tea party is destroying the Republican party and now they can’t feild a decent candidate because they have to pander to that fuckwad of a group. McCain would have made a decent President but, holy moly, Sarah Palin was sooooo horrible. Game Change is great because it reveals the long slow nightmare the campaign became once the strategists understood the depth of Palin’s idiocy.
    Hillary! Hillary! Hillary! Hillary!

    • kingmidget August 15, 2014 at 8:25 pm

      McCain was scary for a lot of reasons and his selection of Palin jumped the shark. He lost any remaining credibility he had with that.

      As for the tea party … Yes, they are destroying the Republican Party, and taking the country with them. It’s a shame.

  2. TamrahJo August 15, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    If any candidate worth a hoot, that I’m willing to vote for, makes it past the primaries, Color Me Amazed – – 🙂

    • kingmidget August 15, 2014 at 9:08 pm

      I agree. The reality is that individuals worth a hoot don’t expose themselves to the crap that is our election system. So we’re left with trying to make the best of bad choices.

      • TamrahJo August 15, 2014 at 9:18 pm

        I felt that way at age 17 – I was following everything, because having an 18 b-day in August meant I could vote in fall – – I ended up not voting from age 18-36 – not because I didn’t think my vote didn’t count, but because I didn’t want my vote to be the one to put ‘so and so’ in office! I study history – there were many founding fathers who weren’t the best – who were disliked, but still, seems like choosing the lesser of two evils still doesn’t net much then or now… 🙂

        So many of our wise historical sages state that apathy will be the only thing that destroys our way of governing – I disagree – apathy and a paycheck whether you do your job or not is what has destroyed our way of governing … but, I could be missing something….LOL

      • kingmidget August 15, 2014 at 9:29 pm

        Twice in my adult life I have voted for somebody for President because I wanted to and not just because they were the lesser of two evils. Clinton in 96 and Obama. I’m really not looking forward to going back to the lesser of two evils option which is what I fear 2016 is turning into.

        Apathy is definitely a problem but I think it is caused by a very real and legitimate feeling that we, the people, have really lost what little influence and power we ever had.

  3. sknicholls August 15, 2014 at 9:19 pm

    I don’t know enough about Rand Paul to make an informed decision about him yet. But thanks for shining the light in his direction. I don’t think government has failed us as much as we have failed government. We have gotten to big for our own good. It isn’t the Executive branch that has the most concerned. It’s the Legislative branch. A hundred years ago everyone had met their congressmen personally. They were people from their community that they knew well. Nowadays, Representatives show up seemingly out of nowhere and how they end up on the ballot is a mystery. Our Senators are never who they say they are. Every politician I know is corrupt. It’s always about money. I tried researching my congressmen and women last election and was appalled at the walls around them. The president is more of a figurehead to me…with a tremendous amount of responsibility…but these Congresspeople manage the ebb and flow of our very existence and yet, come election day, most people at the polls can’t tell you why they chose to cast their for for whomever they did. That’s scary.

    • kingmidget August 15, 2014 at 9:32 pm

      All sorts of other subjects for more posts. I believe our systems, our rules, our way is getting too complicated for humans to handle. And we’re just left with no other option but to flail about in a way that looks like we’re “doing” something when in reality we’re just continuing to make it more complicated. That’s one of the reasons why I’d like to see some type of governance revolution.

  4. Pamela Beckford August 16, 2014 at 6:40 am

    I want Elizabeth Warren to run

  5. Kevin Brennan August 16, 2014 at 8:20 am

    I have a sneaking suspicion that Rand Paul is a chameleon. He’s already walking back a lot of the more inflammatory things he’s said in the past, which tells me that he wants to hide his true beliefs in order to get elected. If, against the odds, he makes his way to the White House, I’d expect a typical Republican to emerge.

    Luckily, you and I are in California, so there’s the option of abstaining in ’16. The state will still go blue. I’d love a strong primary challenge to HRC to pop up instead, but I don’t expect it at this point.

    What a depressing situation! Thanks a lot… 😉

    • kingmidget August 16, 2014 at 8:27 am

      Yes … you’ve pinpointed the biggest reason I will probably never be able to vote for Rand Paul. As much as I like some of the things he says, it’s fundamentally impossible to know what he really stands for anymore.

      It is depressing. I so want Hillary to go away. I’m thinking that will finally happen when Chelsea is 35 years old and can take over the mantle of being a Clinton running for President and then this can go on for another 30 or 40 years.

Leave a Reply

