KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

James Patterson Speaks on the Amazon-Hatchette Kerfluffle


I really don’t know what I think about the whole Amazon war with certain publishers, but I do know this.  The last person I’m going to listen to is a guy who no longer writes the books that bear his name.  Seriously, I can’t think of anybody who has less credibility on any topic than James Patterson.  You can read the piece.  Linked to above.  I did.  I found it to be obnoxious and ridiculous and, basically, a mess. 

5 responses to “James Patterson Speaks on the Amazon-Hatchette Kerfluffle

  1. melissa nacinovich August 7, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    I tried to read it twice… I kept losing interest. I think that’s a bad thing, right? hahahaha
    Patterson should go back to writing his own books, he’s losing his touch. Is that why I’ve hated almost every one of his most recent books and have stopped buying them?? I like the old ones but it’s been over a year since I’ve actually liked them.

    • kingmidget August 7, 2014 at 6:55 pm

      As far as I can remember (which is a challenge, given my advanced age) I’ve never read a Patterson novel. All I know is that when I read a couple of years ago that he doesn’t actually write them — somebody else does and he just “edits” them and then slaps his name on the cover at the top and the actual author in smaller print at the bottom — I realized I never read any of “his” books. And I had exactly the same reaction to his article about Amazon … it was just tedious.

  2. sknicholls August 7, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    I support writers in general. I don’t know about the whole Hachette-Amazon feud. After reading some two dozen articles on the subject, none of which really makes much sense to me, I am left feeling vaguely like Hachette was doing doing such a nifty job as a publisher before this Amazon thing came along. Another reson to self publish.

    James Patterson. You’d be surprised at the number of famous authors who hire their books out now…and surprised at the names. I have a writer friend here in Orlando who tried for years to get an agent for his book and couldn’t. He submitted it as a potential ghost writer and got a contract. He has two now and writes two books a year and they fly off the shelves. He earns $120K per book with no royalties. But still, that’s nearly a quarter mil a year. I say kudos! That’s just another way to go. Traditional, self-pubbed, ghost-writing. We all gotta make a livin.

    • kingmidget August 7, 2014 at 7:18 pm

      I have no objection about the writers who make a good living writing these books. My objection is to the idea that James Patterson puts his name on the book like he wrote it. It’s false advertising and fraud.

  3. sknicholls August 7, 2014 at 7:17 pm

    Hachette was not doing such a nifty job…heck…neither am I.

Leave a Reply

