KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Here’s What I Think


Barack Obama is “speaking to the nation” as I write this.  About how we will be launching air strikes against ISIS, ISIL, the Islamic Caliphate, whatever the hell the name of the group is.  As he started, I was all ready to write a post about how I feel about all of this.  Syria, Afghanistan, Ukraine, Israel-Gaza, Iraq, Ebola — how … well, I decided not to.  It’s pointless.  It is impossible to solve the problems of the world when the world does not want our solution.

What’s so frustrating is that we didn’t do anything with respect to ISIS until Irbil was credibly threatened.  Irbil, which is where a U.S. consulate and U.S. citizens are.  Yes, he says it’s also to help the Yazidi’s, but why is their crisis more important than the other religious minorities that have been destroyed by ISIS over the past few weeks.

Oh wait, I said I decided not to talk about what I think.

Time to eat … and then I’m going to work on the short story I just started.  The world is seriously fucked up and we can’t fix it.  I wish we would stop trying.

19 responses to “Here’s What I Think

  1. melissa nacinovich August 7, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    Didn’t you say you were off news? Didn’t you say you were going back to sports or something? It just pisses you off to watch it… just asking 🙂

    • kingmidget August 7, 2014 at 6:56 pm

      I live in a house where nobody else knows that there is an “off” button for the TV. So, I come home and the TV is on. The news was on and the President, who I have a tremendous amount of respect for, made a speech about Iraq. It wasn’t my choice that the TV be on.

      • melissa nacinovich August 7, 2014 at 7:07 pm

        relax! I was just asking…
        ; )
        As you know, I don’t get into politics, it’s just a hot mess of lies and I don’t like to be manipulated by someone’s BS. The only interest I ever really have regarding the president is when my husband’s brother sends my kids a letter explaining his latest trip and why he was there and what the history of the occasion is. He’s a secret service agent (and the white house motorcycle mechanic) and always sends the kids something when he gets home. that’s about it….all the interest I ever have in anything political.
        : )

      • kingmidget August 7, 2014 at 7:11 pm

        I know you were just asking. I was just answering. 😉

        I would love to sit down for a few hours with your brother-in-law. That’s one of those jobs that just reeks of interesting stories and experiences. Your kids are lucky to have somebody like that as an uncle.

      • melissa nacinovich August 7, 2014 at 7:16 pm

        Yeah, he’s their favorite uncle. He’s full of stories. He was a cop in Montgomery, AL for a few years. He said Rosa Parks is not a nice woman, like not at all. He moved back home to NY and was NYPD when 9/11 happened, he left and went to fix motorcycles after that. He still doesn’t talk about the 9/11 stuff. He’s an interesting dude. : )
        The kids think it’s cool to sit and eat chocolate chip cookies with the big bad secret service agent LOL. I keep all of the letters and sometimes he’ll send local currency to them. I know they’d lose it if I let them keep it.

      • kingmidget August 7, 2014 at 7:24 pm

        I think it’s a great thing that you hold on to the things he gives them — the letters and the souvenirs. Those have a bit of history built into them.

  2. John Callaghan August 7, 2014 at 6:52 pm

    But, the U.S. is in an impossible situation. When the ISIS situation started Iraq, and a good chunck of the world screamed for American intervention. If you guys don’t intervene you’re assholes, if you do you’re assholes. The situation in that area of the world will be fucked as long as religion is the dominating force in every aspect of these nation-states. You wipe out religion, you will erase the problem. And as far as I’m concerned every fundamentalist of any religion has forfeited their right to live in a modern world. But this has been the same for thousands of years. We are no worse off today than we were in the past.

    • kingmidget August 7, 2014 at 6:57 pm

      What you’ve just “described” is why we need to give up on “fixing” the world. We need to stop thinking that we can.

      • John Callaghan August 7, 2014 at 7:00 pm

        Every time my wife and I see the poor President on TV we say “That poor bastard looks likes he’s aged about forty years.” We feel bad for him. His job is seriously tough.

      • kingmidget August 7, 2014 at 7:04 pm

        Completely agree. He is being held responsible for the fact that the opposition party in this country had decided that there is absolutely nothing he can do that they will agree with. Most of “Obamacare” was adopted from Republican ideas, but once he adopted them as his own, they opposed them. Republicans refuse to put forward any credible solution to the immigration issue and demand that he act and then when he says “fine, I will” they threaten to sue or impeach him. It really is disgusting what happens in this country when there is a Democrat President, particularly a black Democrat President.

      • John Callaghan August 7, 2014 at 7:15 pm

        I hope the GOP is unable to put up a viable candidate and Hillary gets the nod for President. Hell, Bill was amazing and I was sad about term limits when his time was up. And, as a Canadian, I can tell you universal health care is fucking awesome. We’ve recently had to use our medical system more than usual this summer and we couldn’t have had a better experience. The Republican fearmongering over health care was laughable up here in Canada. And, yeah, poor President Obama, he can’t do anything they approve of. He probably needs to smoke like two packs of cigarettes a day from the stress.

      • kingmidget August 7, 2014 at 7:21 pm

        You mean all of the horror stories the Republicans and the Tea Partiers tell about the Canadian health care system aren’t true??? Shock. Dismay. OK, maybe not. I grew to adore Bill Clinton — as far as I’m concerned, he should go down as one of the better Presidents in the last few decades. But he won’t because he could keep little willie in his pants. That said, I’m just not a fan of Hillary. I don’t know what it is, but I just don’t like her and wish she had a credible opponent in the Democrat primary. Doesn’t look like it’s gonna happen though. I’m not ready yet to conclude that the Republicans won’t nominate a credible opponent for her.

      • John Callaghan August 7, 2014 at 7:29 pm

        I think Hillary is brilliant. And Bill was a great President. I do not care what a man does with his cock as long as he does a good job. They all do that, exceot maybe W, Bill just happened to get caught. For me it is “Meh, he got a blow job from a young lady. Good for him.” And I love America, great people, great history, but I’m always yelling down south about your health care and your boners for guns. Most Canadians are like WTF, are they serious?

      • kingmidget August 7, 2014 at 7:36 pm

        Sad thing is that many Americans are “WTF” as well, but there is far too much noise from the other side on those issues. Very, very frustrating. Health care makes no sense to me. Under the old system — those of us who have health insurance were paying for those who didn’t. Yet, all those republicans and tea partiers couldn’t stand the idea of a system which ensures that everybody has health insurance and pays for it. It just boggles my mind.

      • John Callaghan August 7, 2014 at 7:58 pm

        We were almost to a person in disbelief after the Sandy Hook incident that nothing changed. And the, I think it was NRA president LaPeirre, went on television advocating that all school teachers be armed, we took a collective gasp. But, anyway, it’s easy to thro stones. We got problems here. We are way too fucking nice, that’s for sure.

      • kingmidget August 7, 2014 at 8:01 pm

        I’ll take “too fucking nice” over school teachers being armed any day of the week. The idea that the solution to violence is to have more guns is so idiotic I wonder if I’m part of the same genetic material of those who suggest such an idea.

      • John Callaghan August 7, 2014 at 8:19 pm

        Well, I guess that’s freedom. Freedom to be a jack-ass.

    • kingmidget August 7, 2014 at 6:59 pm

      Can’t disagree with your connecting this to religion, but the reality is that in many other places of the world, it’s not just religion, it’s tribe, clan, family. As I said to a friend at lunch today — there are not governing institutions that have been established that can compete with the loyalty individuals have to their clan or their tribe. Why? Because far too many of those institutions are corrupt beyond belief and not really governing the way we understand governing institutions should act.

Leave a Reply

