KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Going Private


You know it really bothers me.  Following a blog, commenting, having a good dialogue back and forth with the blogger.  Then suddenly you realize you don’t see any posts in the reader anymore.  So, you type the blog url into the ol’ browser and it comes up as being private.  And you never knew and now you wonder why.  Yes, I’m not owed anything by my fellow bloggers.  I mean this isn’t completely real.  It’s just the internet.  But I know this … if I decide to stop blogging, or turn this into an invitation only site after it being open to the public for so long, I’d let you know and I’d tell you why.

One of the things that bothers me about this is that the blog I’m referring to had some prompts that I used to write poems.  I wrote the poems directly into the comments section of the prompts and didn’t save them anywhere else.  Yeah, that’s my fault, but I sure would like to have access so I can retrieve my poems.

21 responses to “Going Private

  1. melissa nacinovich August 6, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    that sucks! you can send a request though can’t you? I follow one private blog and i know why he has his set to private. It’s better for the general public that way LOL but poetry? Something must have happened.

    • kingmidget August 6, 2014 at 7:41 pm

      Besides the comments on the blog, we also exchanged a few emails. I’m considering sending an email to try to find out what happened, but kind of feel like it’s not worth it — if she wanted me to stay in her blogging world, she would have told me.

  2. John Callaghan August 6, 2014 at 7:39 pm

    Ohhhh. That might explain why a couple of blogs that I followed are no where to be found. They just disappeared one day. Poof. What you have explained is rude. If someone has taken the time to read your posts, interact, make comments, then you should let everone know what is going on and say thank you. But, how I am online is the exact same way I am in every other part of my life. I try not to be dink if I can help it.

  3. Pamela Beckford August 6, 2014 at 7:39 pm

    Odd. I had a blog I followed pretty faithfully and we chatted back and forth quite a bit. Then nothing. For weeks. I happened to run across him today. It was a different blog but his gravatar gave it away. Another really odd thing to happen. I guess it shows us that we really don’t know people we’ve only interacted with online.

  4. sknicholls August 6, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    That just sucks. When the CSB warned that it was going down for a while, I copied all my work to a file. No warning…well, that just sucks.

  5. Carrie Rubin August 6, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    I guest posted on a blog once (which I rarely do–can barely keep up with my own), and the blogger later shut his blog down. Luckily I still had my Word copy of it since I draft everything in Word first, but I could see why you wouldn’t do that for comments. Frustrating to lose those poems, I’m sure.

  6. Vince Dickinson August 6, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    Maybe they went out of business, or they are out of their country.

  7. Justine August 7, 2014 at 6:35 am

    Lol. I think Melissa just about summed it up 😉

  8. Trent Lewin August 7, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    Man, if I’m bugging out of blogging, I’m going out in style, with a massive goodbye party and some nachos. Crappy that you lost your poems, that really sucks.

Leave a Reply

