KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Really, Really Wanted to Respond


Somebody posted this on Facebook today:

Nothing you have is because of luck or chance.  It’s all because of God’s grace and favor.

Well I guess I should stop working, because you know, hard work never got me anything.  It is only through God’s grace and favor that I have accomplished anything in my life.

Sheesh.  This is why I have such difficulties with these religious sayings, concepts, beliefs.

I really, really wanted to respond on Facebook.  To point out how utterly ridiculous the statement is.  I chose not to.  It wouldn’t have mattered.

By the way … the 298 people who died on the Malaysian airliner … was that God’s grace and favor?

20 responses to “I Really, Really Wanted to Respond

  1. Amy Reese July 20, 2014 at 11:01 am

    The longer I live, the less sense I can make of anything. People say religion is all a matter of faith. But the quote above almost seems to discredit a person of even living, like he/she has nothing to do with life at all. Really?

    • kingmidget July 20, 2014 at 11:02 am

      You said exactly what I was thinking, much better than I could have. Thank you.

      • Amy Reese July 20, 2014 at 11:05 am

        Thanks, Mark. I’m glad I could say something worthwhile.

      • kingmidget July 20, 2014 at 2:29 pm

        By the way, I just read your comment again and am struck by the opening words. I, too, find myself understanding less and less as I get older. There are so many things going on that simply defy logic. I always thought things became clearer as the years go by. The opposite seems to be the case. I want to throw up my hands and find a hermit cabin far away. Stop reading the news, stop trying to educate and inform myself, because it just seems kind of pointless.

  2. John Callaghan July 20, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    How would you even argue a point so profoundly false and stupid?

  3. Carrie Rubin July 20, 2014 at 3:53 pm

    Um, I think that poster got a little confused. It SHOULD say: “Nothing you have is because of luck or chance. It’s hard work and determination that will bring you success.” Of course, I suppose they should add: “And having the right contacts doesn’t hurt either…”

  4. sknicholls July 20, 2014 at 5:03 pm

    You can’t even debate with these people. Save your breath…energy.

  5. unsolicitedtidbits July 20, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    Oh boy! I completely feel your frustration. It’s taken a lot of restraint for me to not comment on some Facebook posts. Pat yourself on the back 🙂

  6. bcblessing July 21, 2014 at 7:51 am

    And I suppose it is from a FB friend that you cannot unfriend or block bc it is nonetheless a close family member/friend/colleague who would otherwise be offended. Ah, FB social politics. I feel your pain about wanting to comment and knowing it would only lead to more irateness. 😦

    • kingmidget July 21, 2014 at 8:08 am

      Interestingly enough, it’s the mom of a kid I used to coach in soccer. Somebody I may never see again for the rest of my life. Hmmm, I feel a purge of my FB friends coming on.

  7. Justine July 21, 2014 at 9:17 am

    FB purge. Go on – you know it makes sense!

  8. melissa nacinovich July 22, 2014 at 7:14 am

    I agree that is an absolutely ridiculous statement. to respond would have gotten you nowhere but inundated with more religions statements from the nuts out there!

  9. Anonymous July 22, 2014 at 9:10 pm

    I’m pretty sure you can use Spotify without Facebook. You can download it from the website: https://www.spotify.com/us/.

Leave a Reply

