KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

This and That


I’m a Giants fan — San Francisco Giants.  Have been since I was a wee tadpole of a lad.  What this meant is that I went through forty years of misery until 2010 and then again in 2012, when they won the World Series.  2011 and 2013 were not such good years for the home team.

This year they have started off well, leading their division, and racking up one of the best records in the league.  It’s been a good start, but still I’m not satisfied.  Every cylinder must be firing — Pablo Sandoval aint hitting yet, Lincecum aint pitching well.  Why?  Because, no matter what, they are always this close <> to dropping out of it and, once again, being a member of the baseball lower class.  That’s what forty years of futility can do to a fan.  That’s what the fickle nature of professional sports is.  On top one moment, nowhere close the next.  When their first baseman breaks his thumb getting hit by a pitch the wheels could fall off the bus.  It is a razor thin line.  So I worry and fret.

This is a good test for me.  Enjoy the ride instead.  Stop worrying about what could go wrong.  Maybe it won’t.

 

* * * * * *

 

I’d like to see a competitive Republican party in California even though I’m a Democrat.  I think there’s value in having two parties that have to compete and earn their power as members of the Legislature or to hold statewide office.  Problem is that the Republican Party in California doesn’t seem interested in being competitive and there are times when I just have to laugh and say “oh well.”  It appears, unless things change significantly in the next month, that the opposition to Governor Jerry Brown will be one Tim Donnelly.  Before he was elected to the Legislature, he was a member of a militia that took the law into their own hands and patrolled the border with Mexico.  A couple of years ago, he was arrested for trying to take a loaded gun through airport security.  He defends the flying of the Confederate flag.  He accuses his primary Republican opponent, a Hindu, of supporting Sharia law.  The measure of how whacko Mr. Connelly is?  Whacko Congressman Darrell Issa basically says that Connelly is full of crap and there’s no place for him in the Party.  And he’s about to be the Republican nominee for Governor of the great state of California!!!!  Ignore that part at the beginning of this paragraph — I’m giddy about this.  If this is the best the Republican Party can do, maybe they don’t deserve to be considered a major party in this State anymore.

 

* * * * * *

 

Yes, I’m still struggling with writing.  I’m still in a funk.  Thing is, there are a couple of bloggers out there who have provided encouragement in a most subtle way.  I don’t know if they are doing it intentionally to try to help me escape the aforementioned funk, but I appreciate what they have done nonetheless.  One will be publishing one of my short, short stories as well as a poem in the coming weeks.  I’m thrilled about that and am thankful to the blogger for reaching out to me and making the offer.

The other blogger suggested today that we co-write a story.  This is something I have always wanted to do, but I have yet to be able to fully engage with another writer to try to make it happen.  I’m excited, and terrified, about the opportunity.  It may not work, but it is a challenge I’m eager to take on.

It’s amazing how these little gestures can help.  They are exactly what I needed, whether or not they were intended as encouragement to get me going.  Thank you. You know who you are.

6 responses to “This and That

  1. Pamela Beckford May 13, 2014 at 4:34 am

    I’ve noticed the in the last few years politics don’t rely on common sense or sometimes any sense.

  2. butimbeautiful May 13, 2014 at 8:48 pm

    So are you writing another book? As for politics, they’re considerably more whacko in the US (although we do have a billionaire senator who’s planning to resurrect the Titanic). Our current lot are fairly creepy.

    • kingmidget May 13, 2014 at 8:51 pm

      I finished a 30 000 word story more than a month ago and haven’t done a thing since. I’ve spent that time wondering if it’s all worth it and doing a lot of reading and lazing about.

  3. Kirsten May 14, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    It looks to me like you are writing!!!! Keep it up. And I hope you take a stab at co-writing with someone. It helps take the pressure of being the sole producer of words 🙂 I don’t know if you realize or not, but you have written for 2 out of 2 Photo Prompts on my blog. See even more writing. Whatever comes to your mind, joy it down. Every word becomes fodder for the writer. I’ve got my fingers crossed for the writing bug to bite you…hard!!

    • kingmidget May 14, 2014 at 8:34 pm

      The haikus and poetry are writing but my heart lies with my stories and novels. So, yes I’m “writing” but not on what means the most to me. Thank you for your encouragement and support. It helps and means a lot.

Leave a Reply

