KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Exhibit 1


Why do I know something is wrong?

Let me tell you a story.

When the Queen Midget and I first started living together, we had a deal.  Whoever cooked didn’t do the dishes.  That worked well for a few years, but then she quit her job to stay home with the kids and do the things housewives do.  We got in a routine of her cooking during the week and me cooking on weekends.  Our deal started to eat on me.  I don’t want to belittle the responsibility and effort that goes into staying home with the kids, but there came a point when the Princely Midgets were in school most of the day and she had a lot of free time and I was still coming home, eating dinner, and then doing the dishes.  There came a point when I had it and I pointed out how unfair it was that I worked all day while she didn’t and the first thing I had to do when I got home was to do the dishes.

The Queen of the castle started doing the dishes a lot more after that.

So what’s this have to do with anything?  As I wrote earlier today, I’m struggling with the whole writing thing.  The last couple of weeks and again tonight I have found myself rising from the dinner table and going to the sink to do the dishes.  It’s much easier to clean up after dinner than it is to confront my laptop and my struggles with whether I care enough to continue writing.

9 responses to “Exhibit 1

  1. ioniamartin April 27, 2014 at 7:57 pm

    Yep. I know the feeling. My laptop has one eye on me at all times. I think the bloody bastard is stalking me.

  2. Vince Dickinson April 27, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    How about a story where a guy is upset about having to do the dishes, and then unexpectedly . . . (fill in the blank)

  3. sknicholls April 27, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    After spending several weeks painting a lovely, albeit two dimensional, picture of bird-of-paradise, I am back to writing. Give it another go when you are ready, but don’t force it.

  4. Mari Biella April 28, 2014 at 2:13 am

    I know the feeling. I was having great trouble writing a short while ago, and during that period I was more than happy to do any number of household chores, if only to distract myself. It will pass … in the meantime, there’s something undeniably soothing about simple, repetitive tasks like dish-washing, so it might just keep you sane.

    • kingmidget April 28, 2014 at 6:29 am

      Yes. For a few minutes at least, I’m doing something that needs to be done, but is pretty meaningless and I can shut my brain off.

  5. Kirsten April 29, 2014 at 1:50 pm

    Boy, that sounds familiar! I think my computer is going through Kirsten withdrawal! lol I actually come up with a lot of my poetry while I’m washing dishes. Maybe you will start having the same thing happen with your writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

