KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Today’s Publishing Question


Does anybody out there know if purchases made via the CreateSpace eStore count as sales in the super-secret Amazon sales algorithms?

7 responses to “Today’s Publishing Question

  1. Charles Yallowitz March 31, 2014 at 8:34 am

    I don’t think they do. They’re two different sites and you have to set up payment plans on each one. That makes me think it only counts if it’s ordered through the Amazon site.

  2. Julianne Snow (@CdnZmbiRytr) March 31, 2014 at 9:28 am

    I have wondered this same question myself. Since CreateSpace is an Amazon company, you’d think they’d be able to link them right? And it’s not like Amazon’s not getting it’s money either way – people are still buying the books… Might be worth asking Amazon or CreateSpace to find out what the answer really is 🙂

  3. Pamela Beckford March 31, 2014 at 10:47 am

    I don’t think they do – even if it is ordered through Amazon – at least not that I could tell. But then, how the heck can anyone figure out the amazon rankings. And I agree – I wish they would all be linked since they are amazon companies – but I’ve said the same thing about goodreads too. When I’m queen, I will add this to my list of things to “fix”

  4. sknicholls March 31, 2014 at 11:51 am

    They don’t. Save one, the only paperbacks I have sold were sold through CreateSpace. I wish they counted!

    • kingmidget March 31, 2014 at 12:07 pm

      Certainly seems to be the consensus. So, what’s more important? The better royalty through CreateSpace or sales that “count” on Amazon?

      • sknicholls March 31, 2014 at 12:14 pm

        I sell so few paperbacks, and invest tons of time, and money into distribution efforts.

        Amazon just makes sense to me. If I had only sold through smashwords, and ALL the other platforms besides Amazon, I would have sold less than a quarter what I have sold on Amazon. So I would say sales that count on Amazon. I think rankings help sales, and my royalty on Amazon is 70%…that’s pretty hard to beat.

Leave a Reply

