KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Required Reading


“Yeah, he’s gay, he’s a fantastic kid, he’s wonderful.”

That’s a quote from a Mormon woman who, once upon a time believed what her church told her to believe and even provided minor assistance in support of Proposition 8.  And then, four years later, her teenage son came out.  And she showed the courage of love and kindness untainted by the “teachings” of her church’s leaders.

I wonder sometimes if it will ever be possible for the religious to follow the tenets they claim to believe in, rather than the disease of hate that far too many of their leaders espouse.

 

“Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”Ephesians 4:32

“Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience”  Colossians 3:12

“Whoever despises his neighbor is a sinner, but blessed is he who is generous to the poor. ”  Proverbs 14:21

“Do not oppress the widow, the fatherless, the sojourner, or the poor, and let none of you devise evil against another in your heart.”  Zechariah 7:10

 

You know I ain’t a religious type, but you don’t have to be to believe in many of the lessons taught in the Bible.  Now, if only those who claim to believe in the Bible understood it.  All too frequently those they hate get it.

fred phelps

Do unto others as you would have them to unto you.  Warts and all.

 

13 responses to “Required Reading

  1. sknicholls March 29, 2014 at 5:16 pm

    The Bible is the most misused book ever laid before the eyes of man.

  2. Amy Reese March 29, 2014 at 5:44 pm

    This is one of the main reasons I’m not religious in the church going sense. Agreed!

  3. FangedInsanity March 29, 2014 at 7:39 pm

    I agree completely with all of these comments. I don’t believe in organized religion. I think that humans have a tendency to corrupt anything spiritual.

  4. El Guapo March 30, 2014 at 8:12 am

    Saw that. Go mom and their family!
    I’m not a fan of religion for the reasons mentioned above.

  5. Trent Lewin March 30, 2014 at 8:39 am

    The one quantity we will always have is hypocrisy, and people will always sell it. And people will always buy it. I don’t know why.

    Lessons of the bible are fine, but I think we can find our way to a better truth without what we read in that or any book.

    • kingmidget March 30, 2014 at 10:07 am

      Completely agree that we don’t need the bible for a better truth. There are certain things that should be logic and common sense, but unfortunately aren’t for far too many people.

  6. Dadicus Grinch March 31, 2014 at 5:48 am

    A great reminder, KM. I love the picture of the protesters at the Westboro founder’s funeral. I’m a recovering Catholic–and I find that the less religion I have in my life, the more peace I feel, the more light I find. A sad commentary on our world.

    • kingmidget March 31, 2014 at 7:54 am

      Yes — the protesters show in such stark contrast the difference between religious love and real love. I know that’s not fair because Westboro cannot be considered anything other than the fringiest of the fringe, but there are plenty of other examples of more mainstream religions engaged in hateful conduct. I, too, am a recovering Catholic — we had to go to church until we turned 18. The Sunday before my 18th birthday was the last time I went to church, except for funerals and weddings. Except for Christmas morning a couple of years ago when I surprised my mom by joining her for the service.

Leave a Reply

