KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The Beauty of Spam


o-SPAM-570

No.  Not that kind.  This kind.

About a year ago, I started a new blog devoted to self publishing.  It was an idea that fizzled relatively quickly, but since I paid the annual fee for it, it’s still there.  For a little while anyway.  I just got the email from WordPress letting me know the blog is up for renewal.  I won’t be paying for another year since the effort has died a natural death.

What’s great though is seeing the spam that keeps coming through.  Today was a banner day.

In response to Misha Burnett’s comment that having a collective of content providers trying to set a minimum price might violate anti-trust rules, I got the following comment from Jair:

It’s a very wise answer of Mr/s Snout.The first fiitelrty test commonly performed in order to diagnose the cause of male infertility is the semen analysis test. Any problems affecting sperm shape (morphology), sperm movement (motility), or sperm count will require a semen analysis test. The cost of infertility tests can range from a few hundred to a few thousand dollars, depending on the sophistication of the required fiitelrty test.Good luck.

There’s no editing of that comment by me.  That is it.  I’m still trying to figure out what a fiitelrty test is.  Anybody got any ideas?

Shortly after I received notification of that comment thanks to the wonderful little WordPress app on my IPhone, I got the following comment in response to a blog post about Marketing a Self-Published Novel:

Like Obama stated at the smmiut, the bill is a prop so you can’t use it! It’s the same reason they don’t say that most of the uninsured they are always stumping about don’t have insurance because they LOST THEIR JOBS or that the union doesn’t provide it for their members! Or how those evil insurance and pharmaceutical companies are receiving government subsidies and grace periods in the bill (and why they are FOR IT)! It’s a House of Lies meant to deceive the People while they assume more power

Well … OK.

In between these two comments, I got the following.  It was in response to Rose’s post about whether authors should sign up for Goodreads:

As a writer worikng on her32e8 own first book, I found this piece fascinating and really enlightening, but as someone not swept up in GoodReads chatter or past giveaways, I was relieved to see that the author of this article DID finally acknowledge the most important aspect of your success with SLAMMED: it’s a butterflying good book! ) I’m trying to remember how I first learned about your book. I think for me what has been most helpful in discovering authors new to me is the what others who ordered this book are also reading section on Amazon.com. As I’ve gotten attached to this wonderful genre of contemporary romance, many of the fans who similarly fell head over heels over Sylvain Reynard and Jamie McGuire characters, were reading your book, so I too had to check it out. And lo and behold, now I’m infatuated with one Mr. Will Hooper. Sigh. Thanks for sharing this article link. Oh and btw, I’m one of the dinosaurs still reading books in their original form who hasn’t moved into the e-reader age, so yes, please add me to your pool of potential giveaway winners for it would transport me into the 21st century to join everybody else. ) Cheers! ~Chris Kuhn

So, this appears not to be spam, but it still has that feel to it, doesn’t it?  Particularly when I received it in between those other two comments.  There’s just a really odd flow to this comment, with the types of misspellings and random, run-ons that seem to be the hallmark of spam comments.

Anyway, this is all my way of letting you know that if you cared about theselfpublisher.com … don’t.  It’s going the way of the dinosaur.

 

 

3 responses to “The Beauty of Spam

  1. sknicholls March 25, 2014 at 8:15 pm

    I did not know about the self publisher, but I will play Taps.

    I thought about setting up a couple of different blogs…An anonymous one so I could spill my guts and not be concerned about professional appearance. Another one dedicated to a particular genre. Glad I decided against both, since I can’t make myself give my one blog the attention it should have lately.

    I don’t check my spam filter often, but most of what I saw in there last is in some Asian language.

    • kingmidget March 25, 2014 at 8:21 pm

      I’ve had all sorts of different ideas for blogs and have stayed away from most of them. But, in the My Blogs list on my WordPress menu, there are five blogs listed. KingMidget and my writing/publishing blog are the only ones I’m active on any more. Some day when I’m not working anymore maybe I’ll expand my blogging empire. BWAHAHAHAHA!!!!

  2. theparasiteguy March 26, 2014 at 8:28 am

    I seem to get a lot of “SEO” spam, for some reason; I’d never even heard of the phrase until a few months back. Fortunately, akismet always seems to catch it, along with anything else the spammers send.

    No idea what a fiitelrty test is. A keyboard test, maybe?

Leave a Reply

