KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Kindness


A thought-provoking piece on kindness, including kindness in the internet age.  I hadn’t really thought about it the way the author describes it, until I read the linked article, but now … I think it’s one of the reasons why I’m retreating from so much of the technology-fueled means of communication.  Facebook, comments on news articles,  WordPress and my blog — there’s something to be said for stepping and back and thinking before liking, blogging, commenting.  There have been dozens of things I’ve thought about blogging over the last few weeks and months and I’ve checked myself and not posted.  There’s something to be said for thoughtful consideration instead of immediate gratification.  I mentioned at the end of 2013 that I was thinking of re-creating my blogging life.  I think this is part of it.

9 responses to “Kindness

  1. El Guapo March 25, 2014 at 8:06 pm

    An excellent idea. For humorous posts, I respond off the cuff. But for stories that require a little more attention, I do try to take my time before commenting.

    • kingmidget March 25, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      The internet and, in many circumstances, its accompanying anonymity has turned us into a people with hair triggers. Patience and thoughtful deliberation are two traits I’m trying to acquire in my internet habits. Sometimes more successfully than others.

  2. Theryn March 26, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    I keep quiet a lot when I what I really want to do is snark. I guess that could be framed as kindness, though there are perhaps times when the right thing to do would be to say something (even if it wouldn’t be received well).

    But, this post does remind me of this one, and I wonder how you reconcile this one (be kind) with that one (opposite of kind, imo).

    • kingmidget March 26, 2014 at 8:13 pm

      I’m trying to figure out what was unkind about the other post. There was nothing I could do to assist the guy who came a-knocking at my door. We didn’t have his daughter’s phone. Assuming he was telling the truth. Was I to invite him in for tea to discuss that we didn’t have the phone?

      • Theryn March 27, 2014 at 11:15 am

        It was the assumption they were lying combined with the internal fear narrative: worst-first thinking. Kindness is sympathetic. It doesn’t jump to unfounded conclusions.

        Admittedly, being kind rather than suspicious probably wouldn’t have helped them find the phone. But it would have changed how you framed the experience, and I think that’s important. A culture of fear is an unkind culture. When everyone is seen as a potential threat, we begin to act inhumanely toward others, instead of treating people as we would like to be treated ourselves.

        Anyway… what I’m getting at is more societal than individual, but that’s why I thought it was relevant to the article you linked to.

      • kingmidget March 27, 2014 at 11:31 am

        Completely agree. Ever since I closed the door on them, I have wanted to re-open it and say “wait. Let me help.” But fear is such a motivating force that can override common sense and humane behavior. It’s disappointing.

    • kingmidget September 17, 2016 at 7:25 pm

      Interesting that you found this post from the way back when machine considering what I posted tonight. I keep cycling through these thoughts. It’s time to actually do something about them.

Leave a Reply

