KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Happiness is …


As those of you who follow my writing/publishing blog know, I finished Northville Five & Dime this weekend.  Yesterday, I printed a copy out so the Queenly Midget could read it.  After dinner last night, sixteen-year-old Prince Midget picked it up and started reading.  The TV was on, so I didn’t expect him to read much.  TV is his addiction.

When I got home today, I asked him, “So, how much of Northville did you read last night?”

“All of it.”

“No, really.  How much?”

“All of it.”

“You read a 30,000 word story last night?”

“Yeah.”

We talked a little bit about what he thought about it.  His first response to that topic, “what I always think about every short story you write.”

“It didn’t end.  You wanted more.”

“Yeah.  I got to the end and was mad because it wasn’t an ending.”  Or something like that.  But beyond that.  He liked it.

So, there you have it.  As I told him, there probably isn’t anything better to a writer than to hear that your story was compelling enough for a reader to read the entire thing in essentially one sitting.  Yeah, it’s not novel length, but it certainly is longer than the average bathroom read.

One of the things I’ve wondered is whether I should market this story as YA Fiction.  It seems to be the market to be in these days — but there are no zombies, vampires, or other supernatural creatures, well except for a doubt monster.  His interest in the story suggests that may be the way to go.

Happiness is … the feeling I got after my son told me he read the entire thing in one night.

14 responses to “Happiness is …

  1. Jade Reyner March 19, 2014 at 3:44 am

    And what greater compliment do you need than that Mark? Congratulations and I shall very much look forward to reading it when it is out. Me personally, I am not a fan of YA fiction because I don’t really like zombies and all that stuff but that is because I am a romance writer who is now a fair distance in the wrong direction from being a YA! 🙂

    • kingmidget March 19, 2014 at 6:24 am

      The only thing that makes it YA is the age of the characters, but Northville definitely does not fit into what most YA fiction is these days.

  2. Vince Dickinson March 19, 2014 at 7:35 am

    What did the other family member mentioned in your post say about it?

  3. Carrie Rubin March 19, 2014 at 9:54 am

    If you can get a teenager to read it in one sitting, especially a teen who’s related to you (since they tend to like everything we don’t and vice versa), then you KNOW you’re onto something!

  4. Taryn March 19, 2014 at 11:17 am

    What a great compliment – both that he read it in one sitting and then he wanted to read more of it. Sounds like you’ve got a good story there!

    • kingmidget March 19, 2014 at 8:27 pm

      Thanks. I’ve liked what I did with this story, but it’s also told in a manner that some readers may find difficult, so I’m waiting to hear from more readers before I finalize the thing.

  5. Trent Lewin March 19, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    That is amazing. Midget, it must be something to crow about… I am damn curious about this story.

    • kingmidget March 19, 2014 at 8:26 pm

      Yes, it really gave me a lift last night. Hopefully, one day soon, the story will be published and you’ll get a chance to read it.

  6. Michelle Proulx March 22, 2014 at 8:11 am

    Wow! I bet that felt absolutely fantastic. I’ve had that happen to me a few times — people devouring what I wrote — but oddly enough that mostly happens with my fanfictions, lol. No, I’m lying, I do have one die-hard Imminent Danger fan, but she seems to be an anomaly. And I love your son’s comment about wanting to read more — that’s what you want to hear!!!

Leave a Reply

