KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Peek Inside


I was gonna do this as a couple of different posts, but what the heck, A Peek Inside seems to be appropriate.  So, first up … drum roll please …

Apparently Robert De Niro had this to say when he announced the Best Screenplay winner:

The mind of a writer can be a truly terrifying thing:  isolated, neurotic, caffeine-addled, crippled by procrastination and consumed by feelings of panic, self-loathing and soul-crushing inadequacy.  And that’s on a good day.

This is where I say to myself, “Self, why couldn’t you say it that way?”

******

Just Asking, Part Deux

So, the day after my post about people who walk in front of me without bothering to look, is it okay to laugh if this happens:

I pulled up to a stop light this morning.  Idling next to me while I waited for the green light was a well-marked California Highway Patrol car.  Our light turned to green.  And at that precise moment, a young gentlemen riding a bicycle on the sidewalk (which is illegal) proceeded to enter the cross walk in front of us (which is illegal because it would have been against a Don’t Walk sign) and got his bicycle all the way out into the street when he looked up and saw the CHP car.  The look on his face and the speed with which he stopped his bike, almost sending himself over the handlebars, was classic.  Can I laugh?

******

Why did I mention a few days ago that I’m considering becoming apolitical?  Two recent statements by politicians are perfect examples:

1.  In addressing the Ukrainian crisis, John Kerry actually said this,

You just don’t in the 21st century behave in 19th century fashion by invading another country on completely trumped up pretext.

That any American leader, even if he opposed the Iraq War and even if he works for a President who opposed the Iraq War, can say that with a straight face just blows my mind.  I simply cannot stomach this kind of wilful ignorance and stupidity in our leaders anymore.

2.  As reported here, a Republican Congressman from Texas sent out a fundraising letter in which he stated,

You see, I am already on the front lines, taking seriously my oath of office: to defend the U.S. Constitution — and you and your fellow Americans — against all enemies, foreign and domestic. And for that I am being attacked from all sides, including from my fellow Republicans. My friend, make no mistake, Barack Obama is Enemy Number One!

As noted in the linked piece, the Congressman just so happens to chair the Congressional Taskforce on Terrorism & Unconventional Warfare.  So, he probably knows a thing or two about the real threats facing this country.  And he can put in a letter that the President of the United States is our country’s Number One Enemy.  And get away with it.

I’m just sick of this never-ending need to raise the stakes, to ratchet up the division, to hate and demonize.

And, that’s why I’m really thinking of becoming apolitical and forgetting the whole thing.

5 responses to “A Peek Inside

  1. Vince Dickinson March 4, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    Instead of quitting the political arena (anything people do together can be called political), just keep calling BS when you see it (which is everywhere).

  2. El Guapo March 6, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    Yeah, the bike thing is definitely laughable!

    As for the apolitical bit, they do make it easy to write them off, don’t they.
    But if the rest of the sane folk go away, the small crazed vocal minority will have a much easier time of it.
    Despite how bad it seems now, the rhetoric and level of vitriol have always gone up and down in our country.

    • kingmidget March 6, 2014 at 7:38 pm

      I completely agree with you on the political stuff, but I’m in this place where I’m just tired of it. Tired of seeing just how dysfunctional it all is and will always be. I’d like to see some progress, but that doesn’t seem possible.

      • El Guapo March 6, 2014 at 7:45 pm

        Right there with you.
        Sadly, you and I aren’t among the crazed zealots.
        All we an do is contribute where we can, support those we believe in and hope for now.

Leave a Reply

