KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Just Asking


While trying to drive out of the parking garage tonight, if I’m slowed down by two women walking out in front of my car and neither of them turns to look at me and they walk extreeeeeeeeeeemely slowly, am I allowed to honk my horn?  What if I drive an electric car — you know the kind that make absolutely no noise?

There have been several times when I have honked at people while driving my Nissan Leaf and they are so surprised that I’m there I feel bad.  I get it, you can’t hear me coming.  But, then I think … well, maybe if you didn’t have your nose stuck in that phone.  Or, how about this?  When you cross a street or the path the cars take through a parking garage, you’re actually supposed to look both ways before you do so.  Did your mom teach you to look only if you heard cars coming?  No, the rule is pretty simple.  You look one way, then the other, and back and if it’s clear, you proceed.  You don’t get to just walk across without looking because you don’t hear anything.  Some day … splat!

 

11 responses to “Just Asking

  1. Trent Lewin March 4, 2014 at 2:54 am

    Honk for sure… might teach them a lesson, or remind them of the important one to in fact look both ways. I wonder if electric cars are going to harken in a new age of pedestrian collisions… if so, it’s not the fault of the electric car.

    • kingmidget March 4, 2014 at 6:24 am

      If only that were true. A couple of weeks ago, I was pulling out of the garage and a pedestrian walked right in front of me, against the light, and was shocked when I honked at her. I’m afraid I’ll give somebody a heart attack one of these days.

  2. Papi Z March 4, 2014 at 6:52 am

    Aye, that burns my biscuits. People seem to be devolving before our very eyes. Lack of survival instinct, looking for cars used to be instinctive, yes it had to be pointed out but people did it anyway without realizing. Paying attention to the surroundings, how many people would have no idea of a mugging taking place next to them because of how absorbed they are in Flappy Birds?

  3. Vince Dickinson March 4, 2014 at 7:38 am

    They want a little adventure in their lives.

  4. Carrie Rubin March 4, 2014 at 8:23 am

    Eh, so they wet themselves in fear. At least they’ll have a story to tell when they get home…

Leave a Reply

