KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I’ve Been Banned!


I posted earlier this week about the latest chapter in the Woody Allen is a creep saga.  Last night, I read a blog post about it over here.  I made a couple of comments challenging the premise of the post, which seems to be wrapped up in the final words of the post: 

Deniers, more than any other people, have it in their hands to protect our children and change our nation. Why? Because the solution to violence in America is not more laws, more guns, more police, or more prisons. The solution to violence is the acceptance of reality.

There’s a lot more there, but apparently this blogger thinks that we are just supposed to believe the allegations and the biggest problem when it comes to child abuse (or violence) is that not everybody believes. This blogger seems to think that we aren’t supposed to look at all of the facts and make a determination of the likelihood of something happen.  We are just to believe, we should no longer question or deny that something alleged may have happened.  In the blogger’s response to my first comment, she suggested that her post was about being open to all possibilities — that the abuse may have happened or may not.  I’d suggest otherwise and it really bothers me how one-sided the piece is.  And what is even worse is her claim that her piece was balanced. 

Yes, child molestation happens.  People do horrible things to children and everything possible should be done to prevent it and to protect our children from harm.  But going overboard in believing any allegations is just as dangerous as going overboard in denying allegations.

Ultimately, however, I don’t get that my subsequent comments were blocked on the blog.  Different people blog for different reasons.  I get that.  But, if you post something like this, be open to different views and the opportunity for a dialogue on the topic.  I didn’t call her names.  I didn’t belittle her views.  I just disagreed with her approach and tried to explain why and provide examples from her post.  I guess that’s too much for some people.

14 responses to “I’ve Been Banned!

  1. Patrick W. O'Bryon February 8, 2014 at 8:39 am

    No greater compliment than to be banned! You are in good company, historically speaking.

  2. Trent Lewin February 8, 2014 at 9:16 am

    Sad when reasonable discourse is taken so personally. That just makes no sense, we need to have discussions that are respectful.

    • kingmidget February 8, 2014 at 9:28 am

      I made a reference to this at the outset of the post … different people blog for different reasons. Some people want cheerleaders and don’t want to deal with contrary views. That’s fine, but they should be upfront about it. And the blogger who blocked me should delete all of my comments.

  3. Help Me Help Holly ♥ February 8, 2014 at 11:45 am

    The link doesn’t seem to work, has the whole blog gone?

  4. A Passionate Dreamer February 8, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    I’ve read the post and now need to know what you said that got blocked!

    • kingmidget February 8, 2014 at 2:24 pm

      So, there was one commenter who posted about how beautifully written it was and how she appreciated that there was no blame assigned in the post. To which I responded that the last line about Deniers (that I quoted on my blog) certainly seemed to be blaming people to me.

      Then, there was a long comment I wrote in which I tried to explain why it didn’t look like she was as fair and balanced as she claimed to be in her comments back to me. I don’t remember the details and the comment disappeared. But it was basically quoting from the post as evidence that it was basically one-sided.

  5. TamrahJo February 9, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    Congratualtions! The list of ‘banned’ contains many intelligent, well-thought-out, factual based works – when I first saw the list of ‘banned or recommended to be banned” books at the library, I had to laugh – some people and their narrow ways of looking at the universe ! LOL
    I became quiet disgusted by so many in the “Positive Thinking” movement who believe if they refuse to acknowledge the evils in this world we CAN do something about, they’ll just quietly disappear – – My take is,

    “To fix a problem, you first have to acknowledge one exists.”

    Kudos to you

    • kingmidget February 9, 2014 at 12:18 pm

      I completely agree with you about acknowledging the evils in this world. My problem with the post I was discussing and its author is that the situation she was discussing has many evils and she seemed to believe only one was worth acknowledging.

      Thanks for the comment.

      • TamrahJo February 9, 2014 at 12:29 pm

        Well, to each their own I guess, applies to blogger land too, – I don’t run into this kind of blogging behavior often, because I’m so into looking at stuff from a variety of opinions – I’m sure I’m considered a fence-sitter and not worth anyone’s arguing/banning time – – – LOL
        Was just surprised to see your article, as I’ve always thought you to be a thinking person who takes time to consider different viewpoints – and not get rude/hateful in talking about them – – so of course, I didn’t even go look at her blog – I’m sure I’ll land on your side of the fence, anyhoo – –
        And THAT is my narrow-mindedness in action!
        🙂

      • kingmidget February 9, 2014 at 7:03 pm

        I totally am in favor of looking at different view points. The problem arose for me when I suggested there were two sides to this coin and the blogger in question claimed she had addressed both sides when she actually hadn’t. I’m such a believer in fairness in discussing these kinds of issues, it just bothered me. And then she blocked any further comments from me. If I ever do that on my blog, I’ll stop blogging.

Leave a Reply

