KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The Perfect Song


Here’s how it goes for me.  I listen to satellite radio in my car.  I hear a little bit of a song and think to myself, “That sounded pretty good.”  Maybe it’s some soaring strings, or a few piano chords, or a voice that just sounds right.  I try to remember the name of the song or the group so I can make a point of listening further.  And, then, it slips my mind.  These things happen when you’re approaching 50.

A few days later, there’s another little bit of the song as I switch from one station to another.  Yes, I remember that.  I wanted to remember it and listen to the song in its entirety.  What’s the name of the group?  Oh, there it is.  I must plug this into Spotify and get the full impact of the song.  And, then, well, I forget.  These things happen … never mind.

Finally, a moment arrives when I hear the song in its entirety.  I hear the lyrics.  I get the mood of the song.  The sound.  The beauty of the song and it gets added to my list of perfect songs.  You know, like Live in a Northern Town by Dream Academy, Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol, Sky Blue and Black by Jackson Browne, Nobody Knows Me by Lyle Lovett.  It’s a list that keeps growing and those four songs are just a sample of what I’m talking about.

This all happened to me again over the last couple of weeks.  I got a glimmer of this song awhile back and finally this week I really heard it.  And thought, a song to add to my perfect song list.  Then an odd thing happened.  I put the name of the group into Spotify and was listening to some of their other stuff while driving my youngest to a friend’s this evening.  The perfect song was replaced by another perfect song.  It’s this one…

Actually, no, that is a GREAT song, but the perfect song is this one.  I just absolutely love the mood of the song, the sound (the voice, the piano, the strings), and the lyrics.  It is … the perfect song.

(By the way, here’s hoping you got the version with the Coca-Cola Super Bowl commercial at the beginning and that you didn’t skip it.)

15 responses to “The Perfect Song

  1. atkokosplace February 7, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    “Say Something” and “Chasing Cars” = great songs!

  2. Trent Lewin February 8, 2014 at 6:06 am

    Isn’t new music something awesome… I listened to these, thanks for the share my friend. I always appreciate new great music to listen to.

  3. Carrie Rubin February 8, 2014 at 9:46 am

    That ‘Say Something’ song is fantastic!! Thanks for embedding it. I’m going to download it and check out some of their other work. Love it.

    By the way, I’m up to about page 180 in the King book. He’s arrived in Derry, and I have to say, I’m not thrilled about this dragging-old-characters-into-the-story thing. It takes me out of the reading because I keep wondering if a new character was in one of his previous books, and then I stop to Google it (how pathetic is that?). I haven’t read many reviews, because I don’t want spoilers for the book, but I hope this isn’t a theme throughout. I find it a bit odd.

    • kingmidget February 8, 2014 at 9:54 am

      That is exactly where I wanted to throw the book against the wall. He took an easy way out by going back to Derry and having these kids who would believe because they had just gone through the horror of It. I viewed it as being remarkably lazy on his part.

  4. Aussa Lorens February 10, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    Hahahahaha the gay song is excellent, I hadn’t heard that. But “say something,” oh man… that song will just reach right into you and twist up all your hurting parts. My friend sent it to me a few months ago and was like ‘here’s a fabulously depressing song you’ll listen to on repeat for the next 14 months.” She was right.

Leave a Reply

