KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Had A Scary Thought


I could vote for a Republican for President.

I know.  I had to look behind the curtain to see if the Wizard was there, controlling my thoughts.

The reality is, however, that I have always thought this.  What I really thought was that the only way forward for this country is for a Republican to be President.

Now, wait, put your pitchforks down.  Put … them … down.  Give me a moment to explain myself.  PUTTHEMDOWN!!!

OK.  That’s better.  You’ve at least lowered them.  A bit.

Here’s the problem in a few layers.  As much of a Democrat as I am, I have never liked the idea of either party having total power over government, even if it is Democrats.  So, at the national level, if a Democrat is President, I’d prefer to see at least one house of Congress controlled by Republicans.  Same goes if a Republican is President.  Give me divided government and I’m much happier.

In California, we don’t have divided government any more.  The Governor is Democrat.  Each house of the Legislature is at least 2/3 Democrat and every single statewide elected official is Democrat.  You’d think I’d be in hog heaven.  But I’m not.  Again, as much of a Democrat as I am, we Democrats have our crazies, too.  Our policies that go just a bit too far and when we have absolute, unbalanced power, we are just as capable of doing stupid things as the other guys (and gals) are.

So, here’s my thought.  In the current circumstances, there is simply no way the Republican Party is willing to cooperate with a Democrat President.  They demonstrated it with Clinton and they’ve doubled down on their lack of cooperation with Obama.

The result is a country in stalemate, with so many critical issues remaining unresolved and our country failing to progress.  So, better a middle-of-the-road Republican President, checked by a Democrat Congress.  Things might actually happen then.

Of course, the question then becomes … where the hell is that middle-of-the-road Republican candidate going to come from?  Got any ideas?

3 responses to “I Had A Scary Thought

  1. sknicholls January 14, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    I don’t see it that way. I think two terms is too short for any effective President, Democrat or Republican, to make a difference in so mush as we have built up a bureaucracy that moves at a snail’s pace.

  2. atkokosplace January 15, 2014 at 10:26 am

    I can only hope a worthy Republican runs.

Leave a Reply

