KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

An Important Announcement


But, first …

I’ve started running again and I want to know something.  I struggle.  My legs hurt.  My knees hurt.  It takes a couple of miles for me to catch my stride — for my breathing to smooth out (sort of) and the pain and tightness to go away (sort of).  But even then, it’s still a struggle.  I think people I know who have seen me running make comments about how miserable I look.  So, when I run by you going in the opposite direction and you look like it’s no harder than sitting in the back yard having a beer … why?  how?  I hate you.

So … the announcement.

Part of my efforts to change my blogging world is this.  Starting today, all posts related to writing, publishing, etc., will be posted over here … markpaxson.com.  This blog will be reserved for everything else — food, pictures, politics, rants, etc.  Yes, there will probably be some cross-over between the two every now and then.  But, this is part of what I need to do.  I think.  So, if you want to see what’s going on in my writing and publishing world, there’s a place for you to go and it ain’t here.

 

16 responses to “An Important Announcement

  1. passionatedreaming December 29, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    How long have you been running for? Sometimes it just takes a few weeks to get into the jist of it.

    • kingmidget December 29, 2013 at 6:33 pm

      I started running about seven years ago. Ran for about four years, including four half marathons. Then I tore a groin muscle playing soccer. Three times before I finally saw a doctor. As a result, I haven’t run much in the past two years. Physical Therapy didn’t do anything for me. I’m now just trying to get back into it by running 3-5 miles several times a week. When I used to run, I ran 9-minute miles no matter the distance. Now I’m at about 10.5 or 11 minute miles. I’m OK with that. Just wish It wouldn’t always be so difficult — which it always has been for me.

  2. Vince Dickinson December 29, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    Ok, I followed the markpaxson.com thing. Now ya gotta put something there!

    I get injured every time I start a new exercise regimen. What I did differently last May was this: I stopped letting my body dictate. I’d get sore feet, so I bought new shoes. My knees would get sore, so I ride the stationary bike. Now, I just keep going. Lost 30 pounds, staying at that weight.

    You are a cup that wants to get filled. Find the right beverage and fill yourself up.

    • kingmidget December 30, 2013 at 6:59 am

      Yes … I’ll need to come up with something to add to my other website.
      And good for you regarding your exercise routine. There’s something to be said for variety and as long as you just keep active, you’ll be fine. Kudos on the weight loss.

  3. Aussa Lorens December 30, 2013 at 2:25 am

    Interesting! Consider it followed.
    Also: I do not run. Unless its very cold and I just got out of a movie and I can see the car like three aisles away.

  4. runningtoherdreams December 30, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    I am so happy you are running, its not much fun lately, but every step counts. Cheers to being pure awesomeness in 2014! 🙂

  5. atkokosplace December 30, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    Congratulations on starting your exercise program. Happy New Year to you!

  6. Pdubyah January 4, 2014 at 9:37 am

    Running is good for the soul if not the soles. Stand by for a creativity burst.

Leave a Reply

