KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

It Began With A Roar


November did.  I was NaNo’d up.  First five days I wrote and wrote and wrote.  4,000 words on Northville Five & Dime.  Yes, I was comfortably targeting Half-NaNo, rather than Full Metal Nano, but I had a goal.

Then the roar quieted.  I haven’t written a word since.  I think about Northville ever single day.  About cracking the document open and carrying on with it.  I just can’t do it though.  For some reason, even though I know what the next few thousand words look like, I just can’t start writing again.  I’m in a writing lull, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  I have lost, almost completely, the motivation to write.

What I’ve been doing instead is reading, reading and reading some more.  Here is what I’ve read in the last  month:

Yesterday Road (self published book by Kevin Brennan)

Corridors of Darkness (self-published book by Patrick O’Bryon)

Things We Set On Fire (Deborah Reed)

My Promised Land: The Triumph and Tragedy of Israel (Ari Shavit)

The Best American Sports Writing 2013 (Edited by J.R. Moehringer)

I’ve read twice and now edited a manuscript written by Aussa Lorens.  I’ve started the final read through of Zoe Keithley’s manuscript — the novel she will be self-publishing as soon as I get through it this last time.  I’ve also just started The Triskele Trail, a book about a writer’s collective that may very well lead to the path I follow with some like-minded writers.

I’ve read more this month than I have in a long time.  It’s been enjoyable.  There wasn’t a disappointing book or story in the bunch.  If you have any interest at all in what goes on in the Middle East and Israel in particular, I cannot recommend My Promised Land enough.  It is written by an Israeli Jew who loves his country but who doesn’t flinch from the horrors the Israelis have committed in the name of creating and strengthening their country.  It is the most even-handed description of what has transpired on that tiny piece of land that I have ever read.  Chapter Nine of the book is a reprint of a column he wrote a number of years ago.  It’s about his time in the reserves when he was called to serve as a guard in a detention camp in the Gaza Strip during the first intifadaIt’s a pretty amazing read and is typical of how he addresses the situation throughout the book.

Enough of that.  I think I’m going to start writing again tomorrow.  It’s Saturday.  I need to go do nothing at least for one more day.

6 responses to “It Began With A Roar

  1. Vince Dickinson November 30, 2013 at 9:40 am

    I think NaNoMoMiMaNu or whatever it is called is just too much to try to accomplish in one month. I am silly happy when I write 2,000 words a week.

  2. justmoo33 November 30, 2013 at 9:53 am

    I had a bit of a NaNoWriNO too! What a NaNoReadAll you had – I can read about one book a month 😉

  3. Aussa Lorens December 1, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    That is a ton of reading– I envy you that. Mine has gotten rather low, lately… And I can’t believe you soldiered through mine TWICE. Pure madness. I’m printing it out tomorrow and taking a thorough look. *Scary* Which I guess means I will have to actually read it as well.

    Good luck on the writing, I do hope the ROAR returns. Perhaps you just need to listen to Katy Perry? I find that helps with most of my situations in life.

Leave a Reply

