KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Memory Lane


Almost two and a half years ago, I started this blog.  Since then, I’ve posted 1,084 times.  Here’s the very first post all the way back on June 12, 2011.  Not much has changed.

 

Two haikus for today:

I am a writer
Weaving words and thoughts into
Many tales to tell

I received the best compliment I possibly could have yesterday. “You’re an incredible writer, you know that don’t you?” “Ummm. No, I don’t know that.” I hope that I never “know” it either. It is only through uncertainty and doubt that I continue to strive to do better. Knowing something like that would lead to complacency. Complacency=a bad thing.

Giants with the kid
Green grass, blue sky, orange and black
Sights and smells, baseball

Going to see the Giants with my oldest today. Gotta figure out a way to enjoy the game and the time with him, instead of taking all of these hours alone with him as an opportunity to speak seriously of life’s mysteries and riddles. He doesn’t want to hear it, and probably won’t. Just relax and enjoy.

8 responses to “Memory Lane

  1. sknicholls November 25, 2013 at 10:48 am

    My oldest, who is 37 this year sent me a birthday card, it reads, “Happy Birthday Mom, and thanks for the advice you’ve given me over the years. The few things I actually listened to have come in quite handy.”

    Just enjoy the moments. They are deeper than anything you could say.

    • kingmidget November 25, 2013 at 3:48 pm

      Very difficult to enjoy the moments these days.

      • sknicholls November 25, 2013 at 4:53 pm

        There was a period between 13 and 31 where my daughter seemed a stranger. I am still going through that with my youngest son. Never experienced such with my eldest son. I believe that is because I was 16 when he was born, so we were in the same generation.

  2. Bastet November 26, 2013 at 5:23 am

    Seems to be a father thing…just relax and enjoy…they grow up too fast and then the fun time is gone.

  3. Aussa Lorens November 27, 2013 at 12:43 am

    Two and a half years, dang. Hard to imagine from where I sit now. What if I run out of things to talk about? 🙂

  4. Aussa Lorens November 27, 2013 at 12:44 am

    Crap I just remembered I need to send you my address so I can have a free book 😉 I TOLD YOU I FAIL AT EMAIL.

Leave a Reply

