KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The Differences Between You and Me


We had a couple over for dinner last night.  I did what I do.  I made pizza.  Mine had a mix of mozzarella and fontina cheeses, prosciutto, pepperoni (we have found the most incredible pepperoni — don’t know the brand name, but it’s smoked and is incredible), red onion, fresh jalapeno from the garden.  And, yes, it was incredible.

After we ate, we sat down and watched The Great Gatsby.  Count me as somebody who doesn’t get the “greatness” of the written work.  To me, it’s a rambling, confused mess and if there’s anything the movie got right it’s that the movie is also a rambling, confused mess.

The female friend who joined us last night made an interesting observation as the Jay Gatsby-Daisy Buchanan love affair became obvious.  “Oh, this story is about infidelity,” she said.  It was right at this time that I was thinking to myself that the movie was a tragic love story.  I’m sure that there are plenty of things that the story is “about.”  I just thought it interesting the different perspective that was expressed.

If you’ve seen the movie and/or read the book, what do you think the story is about?

13 responses to “The Differences Between You and Me

  1. Trent Lewin November 24, 2013 at 9:15 am

    crike i don’t even remember. that book made zero impact on me.

    • kingmidget November 24, 2013 at 9:21 am

      But, but, but … it’s considered to be a classic. Shock! Dismay! OK. Maybe not.

      • Trent Lewin November 24, 2013 at 5:46 pm

        What are your feelings on Catcher in the Rye? Also overrated or a real classic? I lean towards the latter. Gatsby, I don’t get it. Just seems so blah to me.

      • kingmidget November 24, 2013 at 7:49 pm

        Much like you don’t really remember The Great Gatsby, I have no recollection of Catcher in the Rye. I know I read it somewhere back in my early 20’s, but I don’t remember it striking me as anything. Maybe it’s time to read it now with the benefit of hindsight and more years.

      • Trent Lewin November 25, 2013 at 4:02 am

        Catcher is an odd one. It spirals out of control in some weird way, and there is chaos working through the words, but it all feels somehow… restrained. Ever hear the tale that a statistically-improbably high ratio of serial killers have a copy of Catcher on them when they’re caught? Or copies are found in their residence? It is a book about madness, in my opinion. If you do spin through it, Midget, let me know your thoughts.

      • kingmidget November 25, 2013 at 7:31 am

        I think you’re right about what Catcher is about … madness. At least that’s what I’ve heard many say it is about. It also seems to be the fuzzy recollection I have of the story. And, yes, I remember hearing the urban legend about serial killers and Catcher in the Rye. OK … time to go buy the book for my Kindle and get back to you. Thanks for adding something else to my reading list.

      • Trent Lewin November 25, 2013 at 8:24 am

        Cool… or sorry, one or the other. I think I should reread it too. Been a while.

  2. Erin J. Lavelle November 25, 2013 at 11:23 am

    I much prefer Catcher to Gatsby. But I teach high school, so . . . .

    • kingmidget November 25, 2013 at 1:24 pm

      Another vote for me to read Catcher. My 11th grader, by the way, just finished Gatsby for his English class.

      • Erin J. Lavelle November 26, 2013 at 5:52 am

        I had to teach Gatsby one year when our 11th grade teacher left unexpectedly. It was the first time I had read it, and I couldn’t quite figure out what the big deal was. Catcher, on the other hand, makes me hurt for Holden (over and over again).

  3. Dadicus Grinch November 25, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    KM, I actually love Gatsby, and ask my students to re-read it when they turn 30 and have had their own Daisy (or 2) break their heart.To me, it’s about belonging, trying to fit in, and how that desire becomes greater the more one is not wanted. It is a reminder how money can make people ugly, and certainly cannot but one happiness.

    As for the difference, that’s so interesting. I would never characterize it as a story about infidelity, but a tragic love story, like you said. Maybe it’s a male/female thing.

    Thanks for the thought provoking post.

    Have you ever read Tender Bar by JR Moehringer–a highly recommend it (He writes, in part, about his Daisy)

    • kingmidget November 25, 2013 at 7:57 pm

      Will need to check out the Moehringer piece (I met my Daisy once, too — in some respects a lot of what I write, fiction-wise, has to do with my Daisy). Yesterday, I bought the 2013 Best American Sports Writing edition. Moehringer is the guest editor.

    • kingmidget November 25, 2013 at 7:58 pm

      I also agree with you about the many themes that can be found in Gatsby. Particularly the money buying happiness … or not. Nobody in the story is actually happy, even with all of the money and things they have.

Leave a Reply

