KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Corridors of Darkness by Patrick O’Bryon


I’m going here tomorrow.  I’m pretty excited about it.  I’ve got my overcoat and hat ready to go for a somewhat, kind of, semi-1930’s/1940’s look.  It’s my first chance to attend a book party for a self-published, indie author.  And one I am thrilled to support.

I finished reading Corridors of Darkness a few days ago.  I’ve been trying to figure out what to write about it ever since.  How many stars would I give it?  What exactly would I say?  Here’s why I struggle with the answers to those questions.

Corridors of Darkness is a self-published book that is more unlike any other self-published book I’ve read in the last couple of years.  It is, in fact, the closest thing to a traditionally published book in the self-published arena that I have seen.

I need to segue here and explain that this isn’t necessarily a poor reflection on the other self-published works I’ve read.  One of the things I love about self-publishing is the diversity of stories that exist out there that traditional publishers are ignoring.  From Tammy Robinson’s Charlie and Pearl to Vince Dickinson’s Fugue in C Minor to Misha Burnett’s Catskinner and Carrie Rubin’s Seneca Scourge and Jane Thompson’s Deeper and many others, there is a whole lot of good stuff out there in the self-published world and I don’t mean to belittle those works.

What Corridors of Darkness is though is a self-published work that crosses the boundary to a book that could very easily be a piece of the traditionally published world.  The best part of that world.  Whether we want to admit it or not, what most of us self-published authors want is to be accepted in the traditional publishing world.  What Patrick O’Bryon has done with Corridors of Darkness is write a story that is closer to that acceptance than anything else I’ve read in the self-published world.  It’s a thriller set in Nazi Germany.  Characters with histories.  Well-described settings and locales (Mr. O’Bryon clearly did his research).  A compelling story with intrigue, love, death, brutality, and twists and turns along the way.  Corridors of Darkness is a well-written, fictionalized journey through the horrors that became Nazi Germany, and its impact on many.

Carrie Rubin says I’m a self-published author that could produce a bestseller.  Whether or not that’s true, Patrick O’Bryon is ahead of me on that score.  He’s ready for some fame and fortune.  You should buy his book.  Give it a try.

4 responses to “Corridors of Darkness by Patrick O’Bryon

  1. sknicholls November 20, 2013 at 8:37 pm

    With German-American children and loving history as I do, I am seriously looking forward to this read.

  2. Carrie Rubin November 21, 2013 at 7:36 am

    Sounds like a great read. Thanks for the mention. I should point out that my book wasn’t self-published. I don’t want to take credit for work I never did. I went through a small-press publisher. Those of you who go it alone have my admiration. I don’t even want to think about cover design and formatting…

Leave a Reply

