KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

What If…


You won the lottery tonight.  What would you do in that first moment you checked the numbers and re-checked them and re-re-checked them.  What would you do tomorrow.  And next week.

Would you use your winnings to create that world.  An island.  A house on a cliff.  A little hideaway.

Who would you invite to inhabit your corner of the universe?

Here’s an idea.  You invite five people, but would you preclude them from bringing people who are near and dear to them.   Don’t they have people besides just you they would want to bring along.  So, how many do they get.

What if you win the lottery and create your own version of paradise.  How many people would belong.  What would the rules be.  What would you do.

21 responses to “What If…

  1. tjtherien November 19, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    the island sounds good, but I think I would prefer to be the sole inhabitant

    • kingmidget November 19, 2013 at 7:47 pm

      Thanks for the response. I’m thinking of something with these what ifs and am hoping to get more responses. I can totally appreciate the being alone desire.

  2. KippFu November 19, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    i’m from hawaii, so i’ve already won. but my world (island) would go like this.

    i won the lottery, bought an island and a boat that leaves at 7pm. miss the boat and you five fuckers will be shit out of luck.

  3. Michelle Proulx November 20, 2013 at 7:11 am

    If I won the lottery … honestly, I don’t see my life changing all that much, besides a few upgrades in material comfort. I’d put most of it in the bank, for sure. I’d quit my job, so I could focus on writing. I’d buy an automatic car (currently have a standard and I HATE shifting). But I don’t think I’d move, because even though my current place isn’t all that fancy, I live right next to my best friend, and I kind of don’t want to lose that. I’d probably hire an interior decorator and a maid. Maybe a chef to come by at meal times. Buy a shmancy new computer and a flat screen TV. Oh, and go on a world cruise. That’s probably the biggest expenditure I’d make — the cruise 🙂

    • kingmidget November 20, 2013 at 7:13 am

      If you won the lottery you could re-locate and take your friend with you. 😉 I would definitely move to the coast but I’d be happy living in a shack and spending my day doing whatever I wanted to do.

      • Michelle Proulx November 20, 2013 at 7:35 am

        True! But I’d need to relocate everyone, which might get a bit costly. Also, they might not want to move, lol.

        Moving to the coast would be lovely. Actually, now that you mention it, I could see myself moving somewhere with a nice, warm, year round climate. Not too hot, just … nice. Like, spring weather all the time. I hear San Francisco’s good for that.

      • kingmidget November 20, 2013 at 7:46 am

        SF may be too cold. I’d go central coast. Somewhere from Santa Barbara to Santa Cruz if you’re looking for eternal spring.

      • Michelle Proulx November 20, 2013 at 8:08 am

        Well, should I ever win the lottery, you can be my travel planner, lol.

      • kingmidget November 20, 2013 at 8:22 pm

        Deal.

  4. Aussa Lorens November 21, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    Hmmm…. I’ve never played the lottery, BUT my boyfriend and I showed up to some sales pitch, hoping to get scammed because that seemed fun, and they gave us a lottery ticket so we are just counting down the days until the 29th to see if we are bajillionaires.

    The only thing I can really think of doing with that money is paying off mine and all my family and friends’ student loans… Then mortgages. Then I’m sure I’d travel.

    If I bought an island/paradise I’d opt for the South Pacific and I’d just buy a fleet of jets so that my people could come and go as they pleased. I would probably only pick my boyfriend to go because everyone else I know is invested in where they are and what they’re doing… and I’m a hermit.

    Interesting questions!

    • kingmidget November 21, 2013 at 8:04 pm

      More later when I’m not typing on my phone … But thank you for being one of the few people who has responded with something substantive.

      • Aussa Lorens November 21, 2013 at 8:09 pm

        I love “what ifs” 🙂

      • kingmidget November 21, 2013 at 8:10 pm

        You are the only one playing the game I had in mind. More later. ;). But, thank you.

      • kingmidget November 21, 2013 at 8:38 pm

        These What Ifs are meant to start a conversation. A dialogue. About who matters and what matters. This is my greatest regret about my blog is that I have yet to figure out a way to create that conversation.

      • Aussa Lorens November 21, 2013 at 9:04 pm

        Hmmm… Maybe you can let me know what you’re looking for and we can try and start the conversation on my blog? Surely it relates to some bat-shiz crazy thing I can blog about?!

      • kingmidget November 21, 2013 at 9:12 pm

        Not sure what I’m looking for. But I’ve never liked the idea of blogging so I could be heard. The whole point is to start a conversation about whatever it is I start with the post. Unfortunately, I don’t get the kind of comments that typically create conversations. I’ve thought of starting a blog where there are several contributors who play off of each other to create the conversation that way. But it would have to be a group of people/bloggers who want to (and can) write about just about anything in an intelligent, open-minded way — politics, religion, culture, philosophy, stupid things, and everything in between. I’ve never wanted to have a blog so I can pontificate. It’s one of the reasons why I’m not posting as much as I was a year ago — there’s no conversation happening. Except rarely when people like you pop in.

      • Aussa Lorens November 21, 2013 at 9:16 pm

        Ah, gotcha. I thought you meant a conversation specifically about this topic. Hmm… that’s tough. I’m probably not capable of discussing these things you list 🙂 Though I did start out as a philosophy major in undergrad 😉 I could definitely discuss “stupid things” though. On these I am an expert so let me know if you set up such a panel.

  5. mdog32 November 23, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    In order to do the things I want to do this lottery jackpot would have to have anywhere from 8 to 10 zeros. The first thing I would do is pay off all by debt. I would then give my niece and nephew a chunk of money for college. I’d help out my parents and pay off their debt too. Then I’d go buy myself my Cadillac SRX I’ve been wanting. After that I’d probably buy or build a house on a lake and have my best friends live next door to me.

    • kingmidget November 24, 2013 at 7:54 am

      That’s quite a bit. I’ve always said that I just want to win $1,000,000. Enough to put into a reasonable investment and live off of the investment earnings. I don’t want my life to change in any way other than that I won’t have to work, which will lead to all of the other changes — getting to live a lifetime of Saturdays.

Leave a Reply

