KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

What if …


… I told you there was a place you could go.  A place where everything was as it should be.  Where there were no wants or needs.  No, wait, rewind that last bit.  There are wants and needs.  That are fulfilled.

What if I told you this place was real.  It was an island.  Or an enclave perched on a cliff.  A mountain hideway.

What if you could be there.

What if you could take one person with you.  Who would it be.

What if you could take five people with you.  Who would they be.

What if you could be there.  On the island.  Perched on the cliff.  Hiding away on the mountainside.  And the person you took with you.  The people you asked to join you.  Were the only people you interacted with for the rest of your life.

Everything is as it should be.  Could be.  Your life is perfect.  You spend your day doing what you want with who you want.

Who would it be.  Pick one person.  Pick five.  But no more than that.  Who would you spend the rest of your life with in perfect bliss.  Why.

9 responses to “What if …

  1. sknicholls November 19, 2013 at 10:33 am

    I am doing that now, exactly where I should be and exactly with whom I should be, and it is wonderful and I am happier than I have ever been in my entire life.

  2. Pingback: What If… | KingMidget's Ramblings

  3. Aussa Lorens November 21, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    Aw, hmmm. The boyfriend, of course. But if he was going to hang out on my paradise cliff island for the rest of my life then I would make him put a ring on it. I’d want to bring all four of my brothers + their wives + their billions of children but that’s more than 5 :-/ I don’t think any of my friends would be happy without the rest of the world so I wouldn’t bring them (extroverts, yeesh). I’d bring my dog, if she counts as a person. And I would bring Dave Eggers because he’s my favorite. I would let him bring his wife or whatever woman he wanted, so that there wouldn’t be any confusion on the island. And then I would substitute my last person for a mac that had skype. I think that’s five? I’m so bad at math.

    • kingmidget November 21, 2013 at 8:37 pm

      I’d waive the limit for siblings and their billions of children. Love the choice of Eggers and that’s exactly the kind of response I’m looking for. Saw him speak a couple of years ago. Read Zeitoun and What is the What, as well as the Heartbreaking Work. He’s a master storyteller. Thanks for playing!!!

      • Aussa Lorens November 21, 2013 at 9:02 pm

        Ah, I’m jealous you saw him speak. Grrr. I saw his autograph on a poster in Denver and that was enough to make me swoon a wee bit. I *may* have touched it. Maybe. I love LOVE HWSG. Agh!

      • kingmidget November 21, 2013 at 9:04 pm

        I can see why you would like HWSG. If you have a chance to see him, take it. He’s an interesting guy.

  4. mdog32 November 23, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    Wow, those are some hard questions. Off the top of my head…my mom and my two best friends. Does my dog count? ~Gina

Leave a Reply

