KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Weed Therapy


As I indicated a couple of weeks ago, I unpublished Weed Therapy because I was tired of seeing nobody buy it.  Regardless of the promotional efforts I tried, regardless of the price, regardless of anything.  Nobody was buying it.  So, I took it off the market.

I’m convinced of one thing.  Part of the difficulty is wrapped up in the title.  For far too many people “Weed” means only one thing.  They see the title and they think that one thing.  Which is completely unrelated to the story.  So, I’ve decided to change the title.

For those of you who have read the story, I’m open to suggestions for a new title.  When I was writing it, the first title I had for it was “Not So Much Anymore,” which is a line at the end of the first flashback that Kelvin has.  I’m not entirely sold on that as a suitable title.  Any suggestions?

19 responses to “Weed Therapy

  1. Vince Dickinson November 17, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    “Weeding Therapy” or “To Happiness” might work.

  2. Patrick W. O'Bryon November 18, 2013 at 7:04 am

    It’s a beautifully-crafted novel and I hope to see it out there again soon. I do agree regarding the old title–from the first encounter it elicited misleading thoughts, a vision of the protagonist on the therapist’s couch, lighting up. Having read the book, I would think a title which speaks to the heart of the plot–stepping back from life to better see what is actually taking place–might convey better the changing hero. Maybe “Stepping Back” or “One Back, Two Forward” or similar. I might also suggest a new cover with the re-release, one with more imagery suggestive of Kelvin’s transforming thought process under the guidance of the priest. The scenes in Baja where he emerges from the sea, barren hills with a scatter of buildings, a solitary figure backed by the setting sun, that sort of thing.
    However your novel re-emerges, I look forward to writing a fresh review on Amazon. Judging from the reader response you have described in earlier posts, you should be proud of this one and it deserves a place out there.

    • kingmidget November 18, 2013 at 7:10 am

      Patrick, thank you for the kind words and suggestions. They are all good. I need to re-consider the thing. I finished your novel and am trying to figure out what I want my review to say. I enjoyed it and want to get the review right.

  3. Jade Reyner November 18, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    I loved the original title – but I do agree, it could be misconstrued. When you read the book, it made perfect sense but unless you read it, not so much I guess. Will have a ponder for thoughts for you. 🙂

  4. Vince Dickinson November 18, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Could it be “To Happiness,” but in Latin? Maybe it would be too similar to what the priest tells him in Spanish. But it does have a lot of Catholic tones to it.

  5. Carrie Rubin November 18, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    I, too, love the title ‘Weed Therapy’ because it so well captures the theme of the novel. But yes, most people probably conjure marijuana. ‘Tending the Weeds of Marriage’ or ‘The Weeds of Marriage’ doesn’t have the same ring. Sorry. I got nothin’.

  6. sknicholls November 18, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    I like what Patrick had to say about the cover. My visions of Santa Cielo are so very beautiful to capture that on the cover perhaps with a lone figure emerging from the waves. My husband suggested something more along the line of “Tending the Garden” to keep in line with the message of Father Santos…In which case the same cover might still work. If you went with a new ocean themed/Baja cover, I would have a title that reflects more of Kelvin’s “Quest for Happiness”, or “Searching the Soul in a Place of the Sun”. (That one’s a little long, but you get the point, no?) “Tilling the Soul” rather than tilling the soil.

  7. Aussa Lorens November 21, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    I need to read it 🙂
    To be honest, I did assume it was about marijuana.

  8. Pdubyah November 24, 2013 at 11:11 am

    I’ve been thinking, which sometimes is a problem. I’m sure that the revenues from the sales would be nice, is this a much slower seller than the other works, or has this been more successful but patchy?

    I can’t say that I’d ever have the patience, creativity or courage to write, let alone publish a whole work, or works, but you can’t just unpublish and be happy?

    And so I was remindedd of this – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2TilNclT8k which might make you smile .

    • kingmidget November 24, 2013 at 2:58 pm

      Love that commercial. I think I’m accepting that Weed Therapy in its current form just won’t be doing anything … and moving on to my next publishing effort, there are plenty to some.
      With my first novel, there were some promotional efforts I engaged in that produced pretty good sales. With Weed Therapy those same efforts produced virtually nothing. There is something about WT that makes it more difficult to promote or market.

Leave a Reply

