KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Couple of Follow-Ups


Bullying

I posted a couple of days ago about my theory that the modern view of American Exceptionalism is the equivalent of bullying.  There are so many ways I could go with this I don’t even know where to begin.  The simple reality is that America is divided into two camps — those that get it and those that don’t.  Much like when you’re a kid and there are the bullies and there are the bullied.  It’s the bullies who actually don’t have a clue.

Who is it that is insisting that we must recognize America’s exceptionalism?  Who is it that castigates our President for not buying into their view of the concept?  Who attack him for “apologizing for America”?  I think you know the answer to that question.  Generally, they are the people who for whatever reason believe that we should get to do whatever we want throughout the world because our interests, our beliefs, our ways are better … are more exceptional … than all others.  Apologize for the Iraq War … Never!!!  Even if the consequences are a more destabilized Middle East, hundreds of thousands dead, more injured, and an Iraq where bombs still go off every day.  That’s just one example of the no-apology, no prisoners, we are the best and because we are we get to operate our steamroller throughout the world bullying mindset.  Here’s a little secret — the bullies actually think we didn’t go far enough with Iraq.

It’s not surprising that our country goes down this path.  What is America’s Game these days?  The NFL.  This is a sport where weakness is not allowed, where dominance and macho strutting (hello peacock) are expected, encouraged, and entertain.

We live in a culture in which the response to gun violence is more guns.  The strong survive, the weak are … well, weak.  We’re supposed to care about them?

Bullying?  In America, it’s the national pastime these days.

 

A Peek Inside

I tried something with that post a few days ago.  I mentioned a manuscript the incredible Aussa Lorens has written that I’m in the middle of reading.  It’s impossible for me to describe at this point exactly how she writes what she writes, but it’s humorous and random and meaningful and … well, just pretty incredible.  I wanted to see if I could do something like that.  I woke up that morning and started to think about some things and decided that I would write a blog post about the things that went in and out of my brain during the course of the day.

Unfortunately, it happened to be a day when I was wallowing in it.  So, a lot of what came out in the post was all that is wrong with my life.

The next Peek Inside will be something different.  I promise.

I will say this, however.  I am in the midst of a monumental struggle.  I’ll just use writing as an example.  I’ve been doing it for ten years now.  I started writing with no expectations, no plans, nothing other than the idea that I wanted to see if I could write a novel.  I’ve been writing ever since and I have absolutely no doubt that there are stories in my head that could fill the days and weeks and months for years to come if I had the opportunity.  A fellow writer/blogger says she thinks I’m one of the ones who could some day write a best seller.  I think she really means it.  The problem is … I feel like I’m treading water.  I’m not moving towards that goal and that is so desperately my goal.  I’m no longer satisfied with publishing my works and “seeing what happens.”  I want success at this thing.  I feel like I need to take a break from it all.  Stop writing.  Stop publishing.  Stop it all.  Until I can figure out the path that reaches that goal.

 

24 responses to “A Couple of Follow-Ups

  1. sknicholls November 13, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    One day it will strike you like a lightening bolt, and you will know…this is the one.

  2. Bastet November 13, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    So refreshing to hear an American say that America is not God’s gift to the world 😉

  3. Trent Lewin November 14, 2013 at 3:26 am

    Have you tried getting an agent? That solidifies a pathway, anyway, albeit a conventional one. Might be an impetus; agents act a bit like first screens on the way to publishing houses. I think you should try it, you certainly can write and spin stories and narratives, and I love that you have convictions.

    • kingmidget November 14, 2013 at 6:15 am

      I’ve tried it in a limited fashion without any success. I was thinking about this yesterday. Why don’t I put more energy into the traditional route? Because I’m an impatient person. Finding an agent means months if not years of effort. Bah on that. But, when I finish my next novel, I think I’m going to make a more serious effort at the traditional route.

  4. Patrick W. O'Bryon November 14, 2013 at 6:14 am

    There are so few writers out there who express as well as you an encompassing rather than exclusionary world view. I thank you for it. And for daring to write from the heart.

  5. Carrie Rubin November 14, 2013 at 8:22 am

    I do really mean it, but it might take you writing something mainstream like Bridgeport to get there. That’s what many agents want–something with mass appeal. When I was at ThrillerFest, many of the agents were actively seeking YA fiction. That’s the big thing, apparently. Too bad I have no interest in writing it, but perhaps you do?…

    • kingmidget November 14, 2013 at 8:23 am

      YA Fiction? Me? Wouldn’t know where to begin.

    • kingmidget November 14, 2013 at 8:25 am

      Although now that I think of it the three main characters in Northville are two teenagers and a 20-year-old. Maybe it could be marketed as YA. Just don’t have any zombies or vampires.

      • Carrie Rubin November 14, 2013 at 8:33 am

        Oh, yeah, I could never do that fantasy thing either. Actually, it’s nice to see some of these mainstream authors write YA books that don’t involve mythical creatures. My sons have never enjoyed those books, and it was sometimes hard to find books they liked. Of course, now my oldest is out-reading me. He makes my choices look pedestrian.

  6. Bastet November 16, 2013 at 4:24 am

    Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet's Library and commented:
    I read this a few days ago..then I read it againg today…have a peek.

  7. authors promotion November 16, 2013 at 5:43 am

    Don’t give up,try,try and try again!

  8. Mikels Skele November 16, 2013 at 7:22 am

    Go ahead, take a break, just make sure you get nervous about it after a couple of weeks. A shortish break works wonders. If it extends into months and years, well…

  9. Aussa Lorens November 17, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    I need to read one of your books… That way I can emphatically tell you to NOT stop writing– though, I suppose a break can always be good, for stepping away and getting some perspective. I lack the self discipline for such things though… my breaks tend to stretch from months to years as I languish in half hearted pursuits. Wouldn’t it be so much easier if we didn’t have this horrifyingly persistent need to write stories?

Leave a Reply

