KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Couple of Things


My NaNo Day #4 update:  I’m at almost 3,000 words since November 1.  To match the NaNo pace to reach 50,000 words in the month, I’d need to be at about 6,500.  So, I’m just short of 50% of the pace.  But, I’m not complaining.  I think what I’m doing on Northville is working.  The story is now at 14,500 words.  There are definitely at least a few thousand words left.  I can see the story getting to 20,000 or 25,000 words.  The problem is this … I have no idea how I’m going to end the story.  What is the final scene, the final sentence going to be.

 

The other thing is this … I’ve pulled Weed Therapy off of Amazon and Kindle.  It’s doing nothing.  At any price.  In response to every promotional effort and good review.  It has done nothing.  It could be the title.  It could be something else.  Maybe it’s that the book is cursed because of its origin and  … well, let’s just say, there may be something to be said for karma and I may be getting the boomerang side of karma with this book.  So, I’ve pulled it.  It may never be out there again.  It might, but probably only if I change the title and find a different way to market it.

 

That’s my Monday.  You made any decisions today?  How is your NaNo going?

11 responses to “A Couple of Things

  1. Jade Reyner November 5, 2013 at 9:47 am

    Noooo…. that is a tragedy! Seriously, Weed Therapy is one of the best books I have read in a long time. 😦

    I echo your thoughts on it not selling though, I have the same issue with my books. I am just hoping that when I publish the sequel I can tap into something somewhere that will help.

    Good luck with NaNo.

    • kingmidget November 5, 2013 at 9:49 am

      Thanks for the compliment. No matter the price, no matter the promotional effort, nobody is buying. I wish I could figure out why and until I can there are reasons it shouldn’t be out there anymore.

  2. Aussa Lorens November 5, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    Huzzah! Your 3000 words beat my GOOSE EGG of words, so even if you don’t win NaNoWriMo you’ll win against me 😉

    • kingmidget November 5, 2013 at 7:27 pm

      I’m not so sure. I’m now over 4,000 and I’m just exhausted from it. I want to stop writing for the next week, which is ridiculous. I love to write. Really. I do. It’s just not an easy thing to do actually. It takes mental energy that I don’t generally have at the end of the day. I think I’m going to finish this long short story I’m working on and then see what I want to do. Maybe crawl into a hole for a few days.

      • Aussa Lorens November 5, 2013 at 7:31 pm

        I totally get this– *thinking* about writing, or planning on writing or dreaming or talking about writing is so much more enjoyable than actually WRITING.

      • kingmidget November 5, 2013 at 7:33 pm

        Well, I do like to write when the story is working and there’s a natural flow to it. What’s exhausting about this past week is the forced nature of the NaNo challenge. It just doesn’t work for me. Of course, if I didn’t have the day job or had more hours in the day, it might not be a problem. But with the limited time I have the pressure of the goal just adds to the exhaustion factor. Are you “thinking” about something that will follow Same Same But Different? If not, you should be.

      • Aussa Lorens November 5, 2013 at 7:38 pm

        I definitely wrote the first draft of SSBD while I was enjoying my last couple months in China and then back in the states so not having a job was a big part of getting that done– I feel your pain on that one and have not quite figured out how to make that happen again.

        Next project…… I’m thinking will be about working in the Psych Ward + The Psycho Ex since those two stories are blissfully entertwined. Someday I’ll actually talk about what he did but it’s humiliating so I want to make sure it’s worth it hahaha

      • kingmidget November 5, 2013 at 7:41 pm

        Hope you know you are helping me practice writing avoidance. Thank you.
        You certainly have some amazing true stories to tell.

      • Aussa Lorens November 5, 2013 at 7:45 pm

        I thought about that when I read your NaNo update… I was like *evil chuckle* woops! But I appreciate it 🙂

      • kingmidget November 5, 2013 at 7:46 pm

        Evil chuckle permitted and expected.

Leave a Reply

