KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Technical Glitches?


No, this isn’t about Obamacare and the national health exchange, although I’m going to refer to it.  There’s this belief out there that governments are incapable of large information technology projects.  They all have massive cost over-runs and are delayed and, frequently, utterly fail.  Unfortunately, all of these horrible things frequently happen with government-run IT projects.  So, the misfires with the Obamacare system isn’t unusual.

Here’s the thing.  I was talking with an IT consultant a year or so ago and he let me in on the dirty little secret — corporations and businesses have just as many problems with implementing IT projects.  You just don’t hear about them because the media doesn’t care.  Which leads me to this.

On a much smaller scale than Obamacare, Amazon is demonstrating this.  The last time I did a free promotion, it was in the midst of Amazon’s losing the ability to rank many books in their genres.  So, while I was giving my book away, it wasn’t showing up in the genre rankings — which is pretty much the only reason you give your book away for free — to draw attention to it.

Now, Amazon has introduced a new promotion.  Kindle Countdown Deals.  Drop the price of your e-book at least 50% (or more), sign up for the promotion and they’ll, among other things, include your book on the special Kindle Countdown page on Amazon.  Sounds great.  I signed up.  Dropping Weed Therapy from 4.99 to 1.99 for two days, starting today.  Then to 2.99 for two days.  3.99 for two days.  Then back to 4.99.

The details show up on my Amazon page for the book.  The reduced price.  The countdown details.  The only problem is the book doesn’t show up on the page dedicated to Countdown Deals.  WHICH IS THE ENTIRE REASON I DID THE PROMOTION!!!!  Here’s the fascinating thing about this.  The number of books on that dedicated page has remained stuck at 79 for the last two or three days.  Which tells me something, because I’m smarticle like that — Amazon is having technical problems with its roll out of this promotion.  And they aint a government.  Seriously, if Amazon with all of its technological experience and prowess can’t even get right the linking of books to the dedicated page, how could the government possibly have got the Obamacare website operating smoothly right out of the gate.

6 responses to “Technical Glitches?

  1. Charles Yallowitz November 2, 2013 at 9:19 am

    I’m starting to wonder if indie authors should wait a month or two before jumping on these bandwagons. I was looking at this for my third book when it comes out, but this is really making me rethink things.

    • kingmidget November 2, 2013 at 9:23 am

      I figured that the best time to get in on it was right away before it’s flooded with thousands of books. Just wish I could actually get on it. Unlike the free promotion, this isn’t “costing” me anything with free books. It’s just frustrating.

  2. sknicholls November 2, 2013 at 10:18 am

    Not being in the Select program, I can’t take advantage of this option, but I will be able to do the KindleMatch thing when the paperback comes out. Knowing that the matches count as sells helps a little. I am hoping they have any kinks out of it before I take the plunge. good luck. I hope you get on the page soon. They were most likely flooded with people thinking the same as you…get out of the starting gate early.

  3. Green Embers November 2, 2013 at 1:30 pm

    Yup, large scale IT upgrades and projects never go as planned. One thing about corporations though is they have a much quicker response time to either getting it fixed or rolled back to a previous version.

    I think Amazon rolls things out a bit to quick, but I think part of the problem is that they don’t really have a way to beta test these things. I am thinking indie authors are the beta group 😦

    • kingmidget November 2, 2013 at 4:11 pm

      Well, they’ve finally updated the website so that there’s more than 79 books on it. Mine isn’t among them. Grrrr….

Leave a Reply

