KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Have Arrived


In the category of be careful what you wish for (as in my last post asked for purchases and reviews on Amazon in honor of my birthday) … one hour ago, on the eve of the eve of my birthday, I got my first one star review.  For One Night in Bridgeport.  I have officially arrived as an author.  Happy Birthday to me.

13 responses to “I Have Arrived

  1. Sahm King October 25, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    Wait…isn’t that a good thing? I heard people get skeptical when there are a lot of 4 and 5 star reviews. That’s just what I heard. 😦 I was hoping for bad reviews in place (though I got a few more than I was hoping for), but I hear there really is an advantage in having a 1 star review. I promise I’m not making that up.

  2. Charles Yallowitz October 26, 2013 at 5:11 am

    Congrats! It’s such a pretty one too. Always a chance that people will buy the book because of the 1-star review. Humans are strange creatures that may do the opposite of what you tell them to do.

  3. Oloriel October 26, 2013 at 5:55 am

    Meh, sucks to get a review like that on your birthday or close to it. I mean, most people already hate that event,no need for this. And the person would I guess die other then just writing “I, me, hear that folks, ME, dont like ti so – don’t buy it!”
    I know like everyone else is saying that these happen and you can even benefit from it,I will just never understand why would someone even waste time to downgrade something he does not even like?

    • kingmidget October 26, 2013 at 7:50 am

      I think you’re right about the reason behind a one star review. As I said in response to another comment, what I don’t get is how the reader finished the book if it was so bad. I know that I’ll never post a one star review because one star means I couldn’t finish it and if I couldn’t finish it I shouldn’t post a review.

  4. sknicholls October 26, 2013 at 7:24 am

    I have heard that also, what Sahm says, and I have a three star on Goodreads, but not on Amazon. As an author, it really does suck. Not so much because now the rating has dropped, but also, it is the feeling that, “I really failed that reader.” And yet, the infamous, “Can’t please everyone all of them,” reverberates. I still wish you the Happiest of Birthdays! We are all still growing, and that is a good thing 🙂

    • kingmidget October 26, 2013 at 7:48 am

      Here’s what I want to know … if it was really that bad, how did you finish the book? I’m sorry, for something to really be a one star book means I’m not finishing it.

      • sknicholls October 26, 2013 at 7:54 am

        I only post four and five star reviews. My grandmother taught me that if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all. I will write you, if possible, and give you my three star review. I probably won’t say anything at all for a 1 or 2 star. I know the internet makes so much more possible for the anonymous.

      • kingmidget October 26, 2013 at 7:57 am

        I don’t necessarily have a problem with people posting negative reviews. If everybody just posted four or five star reviews we wouldn’t know the real value of the product. That said, if somebody is going to post a one or two star review, it would be nice if they made it as meaningful or helpful as the better ratings typically are. And, what really annoys me is Goodreads, where you can post a rating without a review. So, there are these people who gave Bridgeport one star on Goodreads without any explanation at all. Wow, that’s really helpful.

      • sknicholls October 26, 2013 at 7:59 am

        I get you. Without any constructive feedback, what’s the point.

Leave a Reply

